Google+

The Amazing Spider-Man review

Decent
Back to Article

43 comments

  • Evanesco - June 26, 2012 4:34 p.m.

    Knew it was going to be terrible. It was just painfully obvious from the gameplay. Beenox needs to give up and find something else to ruin. Jump of the DC / Marvel line and let Rocksteady develop the next spider man game. Then you'd see what he can really do.
  • PleasantPig - June 27, 2012 2:47 a.m.

    Since when is 3/5 a 'terible' score?
  • Evanesco - June 27, 2012 3:27 p.m.

    Never said anything about the score mate. The game failed to live up to expectations and failed pretty damn hard, just like all of Beenox's games. The number of stars is an arbitrary symbol that only flamboyantly superficial websites like Metacritic care about. Take the review for what it says, not for the point value it decides to make up.
  • ObliqueZombie - June 26, 2012 4:32 p.m.

    I feel as if Beenox is getting tired. Like they know they're not gonna go anywhere because they don't try, and then don't try even more because they stay rooted in the mediocre. I think the rights need to be switched to someone else, someone promising, someone who's a raving fan of Spiderman. Rocksteady obviously had some die-hard fans on their team. Alas, I haven't played a Spiderman game, since, well, Spiderman 3 on the PS2. As you can guess, that wasn't a good farewell, so mediocre or not, I'll probably get this when a price drop comes in. I'm dying to be Peter Parker once more.
  • wheresmymonkey - June 27, 2012 1:14 a.m.

    Right, so you haven't played shattered dimensions, Which was porbably the most comprehansive spiderman game ever ( in terms of ppure fan service if nothing else) yet they're mediocre. Come on man. If you're going to knock it at least try it.
  • ObliqueZombie - June 27, 2012 6:41 p.m.

    Well, juding from the scored they've accumulated over the years, I'd say I can safely say they're average at best. But I'm not "knocking" anything. I WANT to play these games, but I don't have the money to--especially for new games.
  • metroid2099400 - June 26, 2012 4:01 p.m.

    Henry, I believe that Neversoft developed Spider-Man and Spider-Man 2: Enter Electro for the Playstation. Spider-Man 2 and Ultimate Spider-Man were developed by Treyarch. Sorry to nitpick, but I love those old games! Thanks for the timely review, I think I'll be another one to pick this up when it drops in price a bit.
  • IceBlueKirby - June 26, 2012 3:21 p.m.

    Guess I didn't expect this game to be anything special or unique, I just hoped it would. Once it drops to $20 (shouldn't take long if most movie games are any indication) I'll give it a shot.
  • trent-power - June 26, 2012 3:17 p.m.

    Can't wait to get it. I just hope they give us the non-inverted Fantastic Four costume. I like the white better.
  • DualWieldingIsNotFeasible - June 26, 2012 2:45 p.m.

    Well, I least I know what I'll be picking up from the bargain bin when I'm bored 6 months from now.
  • shawksta - June 26, 2012 2:24 p.m.

    Judgingt your tone Henry, its basically Spider-Man 2 but with a different story.
  • GR_HenryGilbert - June 26, 2012 2:55 p.m.

    Most Spider-Man fans will likely be satisfied to play a new game that is better than last September's disposable Edge of Time.
  • shawksta - June 26, 2012 4:38 p.m.

    I hear ya
  • IsaacShadow - June 26, 2012 12:57 p.m.

    My question is: Is it like Spider Man 2? I might give it a try if yes.
  • GR_HenryGilbert - June 26, 2012 1:28 p.m.

    Yes, it's very much like Spider-Man 2. Really it's too much like it
  • inkyspot - June 26, 2012 11:43 a.m.

    I'll probably get this sometime later on, hopefully the Dlc stuff will be cheap... more likely not.
  • Darkhawk - June 26, 2012 11:33 a.m.

    I will personally pay RockSteady $100 (a lot, I know) for adapting the next Spider-Man game.
  • blake-pobst - June 26, 2012 12:49 p.m.

    im sure your 100 dollars will help them get the rights, and productivity needed to make a spider-man game.
  • shawksta - June 26, 2012 11:22 a.m.

    So its pretty much solid and a Spiderman experience but doesnt excell at anything that can give Spiderman more. Well atleast its better than the dimension games and 3.
  • QuickSticks45 - June 26, 2012 11:01 a.m.

    Hey as long as they fixed the Monkey Paw camera I'm cool with it. Still probably better than Spider-Man 3
  • BladedFalcon - June 26, 2012 10:53 a.m.

    Called it. Will just wait until Activision gives up on the rights for the franchise and that it next gets picked up by someone who actually cares.
  • bebl09 - June 27, 2012 11:28 a.m.

    You know that's not gonna happen, right? People will always buy Spiderman games, especially if there's films being made, and Activision know this.

Showing 21-40 of 43 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 2013 - PS Vita
Jun 26 2012 - Wii, PS3
Jun 29 2012 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PS Vita, Wii, PS3, Wii U, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Beenox
Franchise: Spider-man
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Mild Violence, Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.