Google+

Bayonetta review

Astonishing
Back to Article

36 comments

  • sern-savatdee - July 13, 2012 1:35 p.m.

    good
  • smikey1123 - November 22, 2010 1:41 a.m.

    Thank you for this review, I purchased the game based on it.
  • adp15 - March 26, 2010 7:10 p.m.

    gotta get it
  • drako691 - February 27, 2010 7:05 p.m.

    i got the demo(something clearly none of the flamers did) and i thought it was a little like DMC, but not nearly enough to call it a clone, i dont really know anything about the story but to be honest, i dont care about the story...in any game...ever, i just dont play a game for story or even graphics, i just care about the actual gameplay, which from the demo is great so from what ive seen and played this game does deserve a 10. and one more thing, a 10 doesnt mean its a perfect game, theres a lot of games that get a 10 that have a few flaws (nothing is perfect)but a 10 just basically means that the flaws it does have are minor and can be easily over looked.
  • reaper45 - January 25, 2010 9:07 a.m.

    yes dannage805!!! Darksiders is by fucking far a better game! I traded the fuckin piece of shit of a game so called bayonetta to a dumb ass freind of mine for darksiders. After he played it and maybe after rubbing one out dude's already sick of it! Only time I ever want to see this witch bitch again is in a porno! Fuck, I think thats why anyone would buy it!Sorry sega! You had a great time in the 16 bit time zone, let it go sega, let it go!!!!!
  • frahmer86 - January 20, 2010 7:25 p.m.

    I rented this game because it got really good reviews and I love God of War. Well, I was very disappointed by this game. It is unfairly hard, such as getting attacked immediately after a cutscene ends, and the load times are horrendous. Don't know if it was a problem on the 360, but the PS3 was very slow. The story is completely pointless and adds nothing to the game. Also, you can only save the game between each chapter. Dumb. I would say a 6.5/10. I really cannot wait for God of War III.
  • mausjake - January 16, 2010 9:35 p.m.

    To anyone who played it... How many hours of gameplay am I looking at? I'm broke, like WAY broke, and I need something to keep myself from going insane over he next month or two, I dont want to drop $60 on somthing that won't keep me for long.
  • spleen911 - January 13, 2010 10:49 p.m.

    it actually has a one-hand game play option
  • reaper45 - January 13, 2010 7:18 p.m.

    Dont buy it! Its just DMC with tits and god awful music! The combat is great and the game looks great but you will beat in 10 hours or less and I dont know about you but I cant pay full price for a game that you can blow through that fast. I dont know where the hell a damn 10 got on this game, the story sucks, the music beyond sucks, first game I ever played on MUTE!!! If you want it that bad just rent the damn thing of wait untill one of your dumb ass friends buys it. I promise you he will be sick of it in a week!!
  • CandiedJester - January 12, 2010 8:48 a.m.

    Okay, I bought the game on release day, and I am on chapter 11 about..don't know how close that is to the end, but I've played a total 12 hours, for me that is enough to say that I completely agree with the rating. I LOVE this game. It is sooo ridiculously fun. Yes, the story doesn't make much sense..but it doesn't really have to. A fun game is a fun game. Period. I already know I am going to replay it several times..and I am not someone to replay games. Ever. There are a few things I personally think could have been different, like Bayonetta's personality, or the story. But its not enough to hurt my overall opinion of the game. I am definately a fan of Bayonetta. I am sorry I doubted you.
  • JohnnyMaverik - January 11, 2010 11:50 p.m.

    Looks fking dumb if you ask me -_- Plus how did it get a 10 on the ps3 aswell? Looks like it's a nightmare on that platform...
  • Yeager1122 - January 9, 2010 5:05 p.m.

    Just played the demo not that impressed but maybe the full game would be more fun.
  • sofaku - January 8, 2010 2:59 a.m.

    @Telekinesis I don't think any game should get a lower score because of a load screen. I trade off long load times for a better system that doesn't brake the year you get it.
  • sleepy92ismypsn - January 5, 2010 1:22 a.m.

    stop bashing the game b4 it even comes out if the people at gamesradar give it a 10 it must deserve it and i think somebody who works at gamesradar.com and have played through the entire game are alot more qualified than you to say if a game is good or not. im ginna pick up a copy tomorrow.
  • Telekinesis - January 3, 2010 8:09 a.m.

    How is it the PS3 version got the same score with all its technical problems, it is clearly inferior. How can it be 'perfect' if the 360 version is 'perfect' but the PS3 version is inferior, that means it is not a 10/10, your one of the only reviewers to not do this.
  • CandiedJester - January 2, 2010 8:18 p.m.

    I played the demo before reading this review. I really liked it, it's super fun..but I wasn't expecting a 10 at all. That was really suprising. I was thinking maybe 8 or a 9. But a perfect 10 out of 10? I'm not sure if it's THAT good. So I read through the review, and there were a few complaints, like marioman50 said, so doesn't that alone mean it isn't perfect? If there are things that could have been done better, I think it should have gotten a slightly lower score. Then maybe if a Bayonetta 2 comes along with some improvements theres room to give them credit for it. Anyway, I'm planning on buying the game, because it does seem like loads of fun, and I feel it would be worth my money. My only fear is, it seems a bit like one of those games that comes out and drops in price very quickly. I don't know why, I just have that bad feeling about it. I don't want to spend 60 bucks on a game then realize I could have waited a few months and got it for half that.
  • marioman50 - January 2, 2010 6:59 p.m.

    One thing that puzzles me about the scoring of this game is that it doesn't really gel with the review. Sure, the person reviewing the game may really like it, but I believe a 10 is supposed to represent a "perfect" game, no? The reviewer does have some complaints about the game (though they are minor, I guess) and therefore, this game shouldn't be given a perfect score. A mid to high 9 sounds about right.
  • jackthemenace - January 1, 2010 4:51 p.m.

    i really wish everyone would stop falming this game! i played the demo and i loved it, possibly even more than i love DMC! (well, not that much, i could never love ANYTHING more than Dante) point is, everyone's giving it really bad press, and i wish they wouldn't just because it's too stylish and fast moving for their tiny little brains to comprehend. only joking, byt please stop flaming it? GR thuoght it deserved a 10, and so do i, so deal with it. on a lighter note, i've actually got htis pre-orded for my birthday, whcih was last weekend :D
  • crimson_soulreaper305 - January 1, 2010 1:11 a.m.

    am i the only one who played, yet alone who has the demo? i liked it, sure it seems a 10 is over the top , but i say Bayonetta earned it,but then again everyone's got their own opinion. (her taunts are are stripper moves.LOL)

Showing 1-20 of 36 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jan 05 2010 - PS3, Xbox 360 (US)
Jan 08 2010 - PS3, Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Sega
Developed by: Platinum Games
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Suggestive Themes
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.