Google+

Bulletstorm review

Astonishing
Back to Article

113 comments

  • archnite - February 23, 2011 1:17 a.m.

    Better than teh Killzone? Bias! ...If only there were some way to get sarcasm across in text
  • SecretGingerWizard - February 23, 2011 12:31 a.m.

    But Fox News told me Bulletstorm was the worst game ever...... Surely they weren't wrong?
  • Markstone - February 23, 2011 12:25 a.m.

    Hopefully I can pick it up later, right now KZ3 has sapped my gaming fund.
  • throwback8 - February 22, 2011 11:54 p.m.

    NickD, you are honestly an ignorant asshole. I love the Killzone series and picked up my Helghast edition today(+ sharpshooter) ALONG with my copy of Bulletstorm. I know I will enjoy them both greatly. Gamesradar's review of Killzone 3 is excellent as is this review. You seem to me missing the fact that they are both amazing games, and crying that this reviewer thinks Bulletstorm has progressed the FP genre while Killzone 3 is an astounding game that sticks to the normal outline. Either way, appreciate both games for what they are and quit being an ignorant deuchebag.
  • Yeager1122 - February 22, 2011 11:54 p.m.

    Wow a 10 know i just feel like is should get this game.
  • FrozenImplosion - February 22, 2011 11:44 p.m.

    Wasn't impressed by the demo, but after reading this I may have to give it a rent
  • kingneel86 - February 22, 2011 11:43 p.m.

    you have got to be high! the demo is awful and probably all there is about the game. Once you learn to grapple with the whip, kick your enemy then shoot them a few times. THATS IT. Finally the guys voice is annoying. Save you money and wait for Gears of War 3.
  • bonerachieved - February 22, 2011 11:40 p.m.

    Hmmmmm, wasn't expecting a 10 but you guys got me thinking about getting this for realsss.
  • s1n - February 22, 2011 11:22 p.m.

    Ok, I've just bought it (tuesday afternoon) and played it for about 3 hours. I agree with the review in general - this game is fresh, calls in your creativity and demands some REALLY FAST strategic thinking about the environment you're in and how to max out your score or even just uncover some new skill shots. This game leaves you DISSAPOINTED when you end up killing your opponents in some normal, traditional way, without all the NEW skillshot scores flying all around the screen. Truly indeed this is an evolution of a FPS genre as a breath of fresh air from CoD. BUT - while playing on PC with the settings maxed out I experienced some weird graphics/performance problems. Disappearing backgrounds, weird shadow behaviour and pixels suddenly changing into huge squares. These bugs seriously affect the pleasure I get from the story and from the killing. So PC users take my advice - watch BS forums closely, maybe Epic/PCF can solve these problems or release some kind of patch. Win XP 32bit/ATI Radeon HD4850/Core 2 Duo 3.0 GHZ - but people with Geforce having the same problems. Sorry for the long post, just wanted to let you know.
  • Zeipher - February 22, 2011 11:18 p.m.

    However, I do understand why a GoW fan would like this game. Giant muscular men in giant metal suits making heads explode and screaming "AH YEAH BOY, I JUST SHIT ALL OVER YOUR SHIT" probably speaks to them.
  • Zeipher - February 22, 2011 11:12 p.m.

    Show me one combo that doesn't have to do with "grab them with the whip, throw them in the air, shoot them with any gun". I can't find one skillshot on youtube that doesn't use that combo. Seems pretty repetitive to me, you kill every person with the same combo that has a different name according to what gun you use. I'm not gonna rage over the Killzone thing, although GR does have a long storied history of fanboyism and the comparison to GoW2 is laughable.
  • Ravenbom - February 22, 2011 11 p.m.

    Well... I might have to check this out now.
  • cronomonkey - February 22, 2011 10:53 p.m.

    The chemistry for this game is quite simple, if you don't like it, you have know imagination
  • JohnnyMaverik - February 22, 2011 10:38 p.m.

    A perfect score for a perfect game that will piss off people who are looking for story driven... oh no.
  • BaraChat - February 22, 2011 10:25 p.m.

    That was unexpected. I was expecting a generic shooter with a bit of "in-you-face" writing, nothing else. I might give it a try.
  • newgames128 - February 22, 2011 10:18 p.m.

    I thought this was a joke review at first...but I guess not. The only thing the demo had going for it was the combo system, but whatever depth it had wasn't even enough to keep the game as a whole interesting. I doubt people will be playing this game 15 years from now like they do Quake.
  • ultraextreme - February 22, 2011 10:18 p.m.

    thanks hooters i came on here with the intention of penning a rave review in the forum, no need now you've said it all. This game is MINDBLOWING! Apart from the fact i have been going through on Very Hard, which has moments that are, amazingly, very hard, this game has constantly impressed on every level. 10, 10, 10 oh GOD yes ten! So good i want to lick the disc and whisper 'i love you'
  • SonicX_89 - February 22, 2011 10:08 p.m.

    I honestly was not expecting a 10. The best site on the web giving Bulletstorm their highest score means a purchase for me.
  • FoxtrotTangoWhiskey - February 22, 2011 10:07 p.m.

    NickD would you care to comment AGAIN accusing GR of being anti-PS3 fanboys? Which BTW they gave a 9/10 for. I don't know if you've noticed but at the end of all of their big reviews they compare it to 3 similar/recent games. Actually I'm sure you didn't notice because you're too busy frothing at the mouth about slanted coverage and threatening to complain to Metacritic. GTFO (PS I'm a PS3 owner and am happy with their coverage of PS3 exclusives)
  • Max13007 - February 22, 2011 10:07 p.m.

    MUST HAVEEEEE

Showing 41-60 of 113 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3, PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: People Can Fly, Epic Games
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.