Google+

Call of Duty: Black Ops super review

Excellent
Back to Article

133 comments

  • wrapdump - November 10, 2010 5:34 p.m.

    I'm surprised it got a 9 considering all the negativity about it copying from it's predecessors, sounds like an 8 max because of the multiplayer and the atmosphere.
  • Xain22 - November 10, 2010 5:27 p.m.

    "There's also a thoroughly entertaining Smash TV inspired 2D, top-down, co-op mode featuring a space gorilla. I shit you not." Wait, what do you mean..
  • Rowdie - November 10, 2010 3:18 p.m.

    This story whore crap has to end.
  • JohnnyMaverik - November 10, 2010 1:33 p.m.

    How can he be bias when he didn't review or score Halo Reach. You fools -_-
  • bluscorp - November 10, 2010 12:12 p.m.

    @GamesRadar_NathanIrvine - There getting to you now aren't they Nate? Lol. At the end of the day, your the reviewer, there not. I'd rather take the advice of a EMPLOYED, EDUCAITED journalist, then some FOOL who's probably only hating Call of Duty because he gets whipped every time he plays it.
  • GamesRadar_NathanIrvine - November 10, 2010 10:51 a.m.

    I haven't played Halo Reach. I can't stress that enough so there's no way for me to be biased about either of them. @sleepy92ismyPSN I can't compare Black Ops and Red Dead. They're completely different games. I'm still blown away by the notion that a 9 is not good enough though. @Sideofbeef Without trying to give out spoilers: there's a bit where you're at the top of a hill and the enemy are pouring over the bunker below. Unless you pierce the barrels and kick 'em down the hill they just keep coming. Maybe the version we played missed out the objective markers? @Visual127 I've not played Halo Reach and the fact there isn't enough immediacy in dropping a man - which was nigh on perfect in MW2 - IS worth mentioning.
  • bluscorp - November 10, 2010 9:51 a.m.

    I'm looking forward to getting this. I loved Call of Duty 4, World at War & Modern Warfare 2, so i will definitly getting for Christmas. But to all people that just hate Activision, Infinite Ward ect, ect. Just try the game and forget it's a Call of Duty, put that to the back of your mind and just experience a good shooting game.
  • Soulmantle - November 10, 2010 9:47 a.m.

    Here's something to think about. Bobby Kotick slags EA for creating substandard games and reviewers agree by nitpicking about certain game mechanics and give MOH a low score. Black Ops is released with the same game mechanics, but they are not mentioned and to top it all off, on PC the game lags in Singleplayer and Multi-player. Yet somehow it still manages to score a 9 WTF?
  • VoodooPanda - November 10, 2010 7:35 a.m.

    How many RC cars did Treyarch give you for a 9 and how much money did Bungie and EA give you to only give it a 9
  • Mr.YumYums - July 11, 2013 2:31 p.m.

    I know it's a bit late, but I lol'd
  • Coolbeans69 - November 10, 2010 5:04 a.m.

    Ok so a 9/10, so ur saying this game is better than Halo Reach and just as good as Fallout 3? Bullshit
  • DHokat - November 10, 2010 4:58 a.m.

    I think that this is the first time that I've been able to see the sights on a scope when someone is not using it. (1st picture on the third page)
  • FXIIBeaver - November 10, 2010 4:29 a.m.

    Biased much? Nathan? didn't expect much because when it come to Call Of Duty and halo they are all great no matter how glitchy or shitty it is
  • c1nd3rcell - November 10, 2010 3:41 a.m.

    I am so tired of all the FPS's now!! Seriously, the genre's been so overused that every single plot of every single FPS can be predicted IMMEDIATELY. Please come up with more useful ideas and give this trend a break! I'm not going to spend another $60 on a game that I have seen much of the same thing in everything by Infinity Ward, Activision, and every other company that thinks they are doing something new with the genre when they are copying what has been featured in every FPS before that! Now, if you'll excuse me, I have to focus on something with a purpose, like AC:Brotherhood or Fable 3.
  • w1n5t0n - November 10, 2010 3:32 a.m.

    Why does everyone compare cod and halo and seem to think one is vastly superior? i like both and i think most people own both... I was afraid black ops would be more of the same and im getting tired of it, but reach was fun (and repetitive) also, how about a new series with at least slightly different mechanics than the cookie cutter FPS? cod and halo are both old and almost never change anything of any importance between sequels... so why is it that everytime one comes out the fanboys get together for a b****fest?
  • Alakasam342 - November 10, 2010 2:56 a.m.

    THIS GAME IS NOT BETTER THAN FINAL FANTASY FOOLS!!!!!!!!!!!! NOT BETTER THAN FINAL FANTASY XIII!!!!!! JOO BIASED NATHAN GAME IS A 0!!! FINAL FANTASY XIII BEATS IT BY 10 POINTS FOOLS!!!
  • TheWalrusHimself - November 10, 2010 2:46 a.m.

    When will we be hearing more about the new zombie mode? That's the main selling point of this game for me.
  • Turboash - November 10, 2010 2:42 a.m.

    I give it 2 out of 2 Yawns.
  • philipshaw - November 10, 2010 2:38 a.m.

    This review reads like a 7 or a 8 but you somehow gave it a 9, don't get where the score comes from
  • Visual217 - November 10, 2010 2:21 a.m.

    @sleepy92ismypsn I'm no Halo Reach fanboy, but it is a pretty good game. So if Reach is a bad game, what LEGITAMATE reasons do you got? No "it just sux" or "I don't liek how it takes foreva to shoot some1 with a AR, they shuld just die on the spot!!!" Something like in example Spawn system is bad Servers aren't good or vehicles give a good advantage Stupid comments like yours piss me off, so decide, what are your reasons, if it obviously looks like a POS response, Shut the fuck up, but I'll gladly listen and stfu if you have a good reason...

Showing 21-40 of 133 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 09 2010 - PC, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, DS (US)
Nov 09 2010 - PC, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, DS (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, DS
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Activision
Developed by: n-Space, Treyarch
Franchise: Call of Duty
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.