Google+

Dead Space 3 review

Solid
Back to Article

38 comments

  • Unoriginal - February 5, 2013 10:37 a.m.

    I'm too invested in the story to not play this game but the reviews comming out leave me disheartened in the future of the franchise. Dead Space 1 and 2 are among this generations greatest experiences and I hope that I will at least find 3 worthy of the series legacy.
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - February 5, 2013 10:42 a.m.

    Yeah, I'd say it's definitely worth playing if you're into the lore. It's NOT a bad game, it's just not amazing.
  • walter-camacho - February 5, 2013 10:28 a.m.

    I have the feeling that every game review is just not coming straight with an honest review about the game, I am a fan of the Dead Space series, from video games to graphic novels, but the third entry suck, the series is turning in the same direction that resident evil is heading, just focusing on the action and co-op, the reason why I love Dead Space is because of the suspense and tension that builds up as you play. sadly I'll just wait until the drop the price on it, the should had implemented the weapon system in a multiplayer area of the game
  • shawksta - February 5, 2013 1:06 p.m.

    You do realize 3 and half stars is basically a 7 right? If anything this review is definitley honest, especially in the last paragraph
  • Fox_Mulder - February 6, 2013 10:02 p.m.

    They had planned on co-op from the first Dead Space, it's only in the third game that they finally did it. And action was always in Dead Space. The tentacle grab, enemy grabbing animations, the Hive Mind boss.... the action was always there, it's just that 2 and 3 upped the scale of the action.
  • TheDudeFromNowhere - February 5, 2013 9:17 a.m.

    dang, after I played the demo, I had a feeling the game was going to be more action oriented. The first Dead Space was quite the thrill. Its unfortunate that its losing its original feel. I guess games evolve.
  • Bloodstorm - February 5, 2013 8:32 a.m.

    Not surprised by this. Dead Space 2 had already done away with a lot of what made the first Dead Space great, and went more towards pure action. Dead Space 2 however at least made me jump every now and then, because it stuck to dark, claustrophobic environments, and made fights with larger enemies high tension because you never had enough shots/time compared to the amount of enemies. When I played the demo, I knew it had made the final switch to an action game. The weapons crafting system takes away the frantic nature of high enemy encounters, because you can have a line gun strapped under an assault riffle and not have to worry about switching to use the 2 different weapons. Not to mention, the demo was full of the 'action' sequences that I about got tired off in Dead Space 2.
  • Bloodstorm - February 5, 2013 8:33 a.m.

    I will be intentionally waiting for this one to get cheaper.
  • SDHoneymonster - February 5, 2013 8:12 a.m.

    I'll still get round to playing it as I loved the first two games, but it seems as I feared from everything I've seen & read about it so far - it's just no longer scary. You could see the more action-based direction the series was headed in DS2 and it is difficult to keep the fear factor up through three games, but I can't help but feel a little disappointed with what I've read in most reviews. I can also understand a developer trying to evolve and develop a series, but not at the expense of what made the game so special in the first place. Oh well, have to wait for Frictional's next game to get my scare fix...
  • BladedFalcon - February 5, 2013 8:10 a.m.

    Eh, called ever since I saw you guys play the demo. Definitely passing this one up.
  • ObliqueZombie - February 5, 2013 8 a.m.

    The diminishing returns on scares was a given. No matter what they do, fans of the series simply wouldn't be too scared after the first half of the game--maybe less. At least it's pretty and the gore still holds up. I'll definitely get this later.
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - February 5, 2013 8:29 a.m.

    The gore's still there, and the weapons are insanely awesome. It's a good game!
  • bhaywardio - February 5, 2013 7:57 a.m.

    Normally I trust you guys for reviews, but I just couldn't shake that something was off... After reading every review I could find online, I found one glaring difference. While the reviews were mixed, it went a little something like this. Those who gave high scores to the game, reviewed it as a single player experience, and were in tune with the whole "Okay this guy is on his third trek killing these things, hes a pro." and point out that long series fans will be rewarded by knowing the details (vents are bad, corpses are bad, everything is bad). They enjoy the game all around, and point out that while it does get a little actiony near the end, that it doesn't completely destroy the overall experience. Then you get to the other lower scores. In our market, anything below a 7 is usually seen as terrible. So when you see a review of a triple A release like this get a 5/10 questions are raised. For some reason, every review with a lower score calls to the fact that co-op is god's gift to humanity. Like the co-op experience is the saving grace of the game and that just doesn't sit right with me. I've always said that the Dead Space experience is what you make of it. If you wanted Dead Space 2 to be more of a survival horror, crank up the difficulty. I wouldn't be surprised if most reviews played the game on easy or normal just so they could blast through it. The mixed reviews have me worried. But the fact that the more positive ones focus on the singleplayer and treat co-op as the added on flavor rather than place focus on a co-op game with optional singleplayer gives me hope. I don't regret my pre-order. But come on gamesradar, most of the series' fans dont care about co-op. Focus on the singleplayer stuff.
  • Person5 - February 5, 2013 1 p.m.

    Its still a part of the game that the dev team spent time on making, they'd be wrong to neglect the coop and not let it affect the score. If the coop is bad and the single player is good, a game is going to get a lower score based on that bad coop.
  • Moondoggie1157 - February 5, 2013 7:22 a.m.

    It's as I feared, Dead Space 3 turned into Resident Evil 5. I hate when my cynicism is correct. Ah well, I'll still get it, but I doubt I'll buy it new...
  • KA87 - February 5, 2013 6:42 a.m.

    Really? Contant hordes of ememies. That is going to suck harder than the ending of Mass Effect 3 (which also features aliens that turn bodies into zombie creature and a crazy as hell organization that has like 2 female members). Well thanks for the heads up.
  • Tjwoods18 - February 5, 2013 6:36 a.m.

    I get what they mean by being overwhelmed by Necromorphs. During the drill seen in the demo, they just kept pouring in.
  • shawksta - February 5, 2013 6:22 a.m.

    "weakest entry in the series" Well thats a bummer, and co-op only enjoyment makes it worse Its a game worth considering, but "Just don't expect to feel much of that distantly familiar fear-based anxiety" God Damn....

Showing 21-38 of 38 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 05 2013 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: Visceral Games
Franchise: Dead Space
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.