Google+

Deus Ex: Human Revolution review

Astonishing
Back to Article

105 comments

  • usmovers_02 - August 23, 2011 4:24 a.m.

    32 is the number of 10's this site has given to 360 games alone. I mean really... Ghost Recon and Halo 3 are perfect games? Heck, they have Burnout REVENGE a 10!!. However, I've always been satisfied with the actual content of the reviews here at GamesRadar. I'm sure the new Dues Ex is a great game.
  • jackthemenace - August 23, 2011 1:57 a.m.

    I never payed any attention to this, and now I'm paying the price. mainly, because I have nothing to pay the game's price with. I'm gonna have to wait till this comes down in price, especially with Gears 3 and RAGE releasing next month
  • avantguardian - August 23, 2011 1:40 a.m.

    polish is the one thing that will make or break a game like this. sounds like they got it dialed. congrats and thank you. may squeenix rise again... may my old "whiplash the dog-riding monkey" pic rise again too, i guess...
  • Darkhawk - August 22, 2011 11:23 p.m.

    P.S. A woot woot woot to another fellow Canadian dev making an ace title. So, video game fans, what'll it be? Edmonton's Mass Effect, or Montreal's Deus Ex and Assassin's Creed? (hey what about st. catharines' too hu--ARGH! WHAT WAS THAT FOR?!)
  • Thequestion 121 - August 22, 2011 11:20 p.m.

    Aw man, can't wait to play this game :)
  • Darkhawk - August 22, 2011 11:17 p.m.

    .... Good review, but I'm a little disappointed that after all the criticisms, it still landed a coveted "Perfect 10." I thought 10 was meant for ~perfect games, and yet with all the (admittedly niggling) complaints you cited here, you still feel like scoring it that high? Either way, this is a must-buy for me!
  • bamtan - August 23, 2011 9:27 a.m.

    If you'll take a gander at the little word written at the bottom of the 10 score you'll notice it says "incredible", not "perfect". Most of the time when this site or other publications give a game a 10 it's because it has that little something extra that pushes it over the edge. For this game, I think they gave it a 10 because it lived up to the hype and prestige of the original game. It's not perfect, but it went above and beyond what it had to be.
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - August 23, 2011 10:39 a.m.

    I'm going to echo bamtan here; a 10 isn't "perfect." A game that scores a 10 is considered by its reviewer to be a standout, must-have game that ranks among the absolute best of its kind. It doesn't mean the game is flawless. No game is. (Although if you ever see a game that scores perfect on a 100-point scale, rather than a 10-point one like ours, you can probably assume the editor thinks it's perfect.) We actually put up an article about this very issue back in 2007, if you're interested to know what several of our editors-in-chief at the time thought: http://www.gamesradar.com/does-a-perfect-score-mean-a-perfect-game/
  • Laura24 - August 22, 2011 11:14 p.m.

    I really can't wait to play this! I pre-ordered this game, which I rarely do, but after reading this and various other reviews, I'm glad I did. I'm also amazed that this game seems to have actually lived up to all the hype that has surrounded it.
  • TheJerseyDevil - August 22, 2011 10:37 p.m.

    good review, but i keep having to refresh my goddamn page because the dudes eyes in the Rise of Nightmares ads plastering my screen are starting to freak me out.
  • majamaki - August 22, 2011 10:31 p.m.

    Great review. Can't wait to play it tomorrow, my copy shipped from Amazon today and it'll arrive tomorrow, woot!
  • Jdub9064 - August 22, 2011 10:27 p.m.

    great review, this game is gonna ROCK!
  • SystemOfaGuchi - August 22, 2011 10:05 p.m.

    wow so excited! hope to get this in the next few days. gotta love miike grimm! this is the first review ive read all the way through in a while.
  • batmanboy11 - August 22, 2011 9:47 p.m.

    I'll have to check this out
  • chrisat928 - August 22, 2011 9:30 p.m.

    No multiplayer is not a con.
  • quincytheodore - August 22, 2011 9:18 p.m.

    It truly deserves a 10. I've played it for a few days now, and ironically this might be the best RPG Squeenix had published in a very long time. Stealth sections are almost bordering on MGS at some points, RPG and dialogues like Mass Effect, the city is mixed from Halo : ODST and The Darkness, even inventory looks like RE4, as if Eidos gathered the best parts of gaming and presented it in a mature sci-fi flick.
  • blakebeauchamp - August 22, 2011 9:08 p.m.

    glad I pre ordered the augmented edition yesterday then.
  • spencertucksen - August 22, 2011 9:06 p.m.

    It would have been cool to have multiplayer (perhaps have the typical deathmatch, CTF, etc.) with everyone basically having the same powers, but being on the opposite factions of the story. However, it wasn't necessary and I am officially going to get this game, now that I've read the review.
  • blakebeauchamp - August 22, 2011 9:06 p.m.

    glad I pre ordered augmented edition yesterday :D

Showing 61-80 of 105 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Aug 23 2011 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (US)
Aug 26 2011 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Action
Developed by: Eidos
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.