Google+

Dishonored review

Excellent
Back to Article

60 comments

  • ObliqueZombie - April 19, 2013 6:28 p.m.

    Knife of Dunwall was fantastic, if only for the cheap price. David was fun to play, of not as fleshed out as I wanted, and the new powers and perspective is veeerryyy and insightful. I actually started feeling bad for the guy. The whaling factory, too, was a great level. It was neat yet heartbreaking to see such majestic, baritone creatures in that state. Daud's blink, too, made me feel like the ultimate assassins of Dunwall.
  • themarine28 - October 21, 2012 10:37 a.m.

    Anybody who likes stealth games should give this game a try. I agree with the steep difficulty at the beginning. That made me not want to continue to play it. people should give this game a try. I don't particularly like it but this game shouldn't get put to the side.
  • bash street kid - October 11, 2012 11:59 a.m.

    I was trying to be controversial with my earlier comments - but looks like I chose the wrong title to pick on. By pretty much every single review i've read this is an amazing game. I bow my head in shame.
  • Rhymenocerous - October 10, 2012 11:04 a.m.

    Dishonored or Hitman 5? Decisions...
  • Rhymenocerous - April 20, 2013 2:29 a.m.

    Dishonored.
  • KidKobun - October 9, 2012 1:59 p.m.

    Reviews these days rarely match their scores. Review sounded like a 3 out of 5.
  • ObliqueZombie - October 9, 2012 9:13 a.m.

    With the glorification (and weak "You'll Hate" points) you gave this game, I was expecting at least a perfect score. But can't complain about a 4.5/5. Great review, though, Lorenzo. It makes me all the more depressed I can't get this game right away.
  • Project93FTW - October 8, 2012 6:17 p.m.

    9 out of 10?
  • Jedipimp0712 - October 8, 2012 2:09 p.m.

    With all due respect, I do not believe that "Steep difficulty at the start can be discouraging" should be a "Things You'll Hate". Game developers need to make things more difficult, especially for hardcore gamers. There is no reason why I should even be able to stay alive in a difficulty called "legendary" or "insane" for more than five minutes unless I am really damn good at the game. The "Inferno" difficulty is a perfect example of this (from D3). I feel that maybe 5% of the people that buy your game should be able to beat the hardest difficulty, and it should be a damn challenge. /rant As a side note, great review, and it looks like a brilliant game as well. Can't wait to play it!
  • ParagonT - October 9, 2012 12:30 p.m.

    I don't believe that difficulty is related to being a "hardcore gamer" because I thought that time was the factor of being a "hardcore gamer". But being a challenging game is a good thing to an extent I agree, but I assume he was just meaning that the beginning has an disproportional learning curve or challenge compared to the rest of the story due to limitations given. Which is something I would personally hate. I like smooth ever increasing challenge (on whichever difficulty) like a slope, not a dessert plain/slight incline with a giant wall near the beginning.
  • Jedipimp0712 - October 16, 2012 4:32 p.m.

    I feel that not only difficulty, but also time should be included for "hardcore gamer", because over time you should get to be really damn good. Regarding challenge difficulty, would you play an RTS or MOBA game at all? If an individual is a newcomer to either of those genres (even MMOs like WoW or GW2) they can be such a turn off for how deep everything goes, and what you can do, and how much you will be destroyed. In an FPP (first person perspective) game, difficulty should not be something you will hate, namely because there are games that are so much more difficult. Try Dwarf Fortress if you think this game has a sharp learning curve.
  • ParagonT - October 17, 2012 10:29 a.m.

    That's why these games (personally) should have a ever climbing slope of difficulty instead of throwing you in the deep end. It helps the player get used to the game and grasp concepts which makes it approachable. I'm sure there are plenty of people that like being thrown to the wolves when they first start games, but most games that I think of doing that become a chore just to learn. Experimentation is fun to a degree, but when that fine line enter the realm of being a pain in the ass, that's where you start to lose some people. It's subjective to each game and person, but I have a different thoughts on what makes a game enjoyable to me.
  • jackthemenace - October 8, 2012 2 p.m.

    Crap. I was hoping you'd review it terribly, just so I wouldn't feel this compulsive need to BUY it. My only real concern is the length, and it didn't really get mentioned in the reviews. What kind of length campaign are we talking about here? I know there'll be plenty of ways to go back through levels and lots of replayability, but there's only so many times you can re-do one level, y'know?
  • BladedFalcon - October 8, 2012 3:27 p.m.

    I heard the actual length isn't that high, but isn't short either, with 9 missions overall, although I imagine each mission probably would take more than an hour to complete maybe two, being an entire venue for each and with so many ways to approach it.
  • bebl09 - October 8, 2012 8:37 p.m.

    See my comment below for the answer :P
  • alan-bryant - April 20, 2013 12:02 p.m.

    I thought the length was pretty good. Most missions actually have multiple parts with side quests which draw out the time. The side quests as well as collecting the runes and charms do a lot to increase the challenge as well as add time to the missions. Given the story line playing through high chaos and low chaos is compelling. Personally I found the low chaos run much more difficult since the NPC AI is actually pretty good. Guards do not robotically follow a set route and sometimes various NPCs will encounter each other and fight which can benefit your stealth or completely blow it. I would recommend starting on Hard difficulty at the very least. I was really engaged on both run throughs of the game and even went for a third trying for the no blood on my hands achievement. My one complaint about the game is related to that, even with using the non-lethal choke on some NPCs they died anyway or were counted as dead. Even playing through without any kills being recorded I did not get the achievement so am pretty sure that is bugged. Funny thing, even playing third time through I discovered a couple of side quests I had missed and all sorts of alternate routes. Of course I avoid walk-throughs when playing a game because to me they spoil such discoveries... And decrease play length... But to each their own. Only other complaint would be the same few lines are repeated over and over and apparently people only know one song to whistle or sing.

Showing 1-20 of 60 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 09 2012 - PS3, PC, Xbox 360 (US)
Oct 12 2012 - PS3, PC, Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Bethesda Softworks
Developed by: Arkane Studios
ESRB Rating:
Mature

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.