Google+

Donkey Kong Country Returns review

Great
Back to Article

62 comments

  • kachigop - November 19, 2010 8:19 p.m.

    Pretty easy grading from GamesRadar recently. It seems like they had a lot more bad things to say about this than I expected, but they still gave it an eight. Affected by the hype, GR?
  • GamesRadarBrettElston - November 19, 2010 8:17 p.m.

    Super Guide plays the level for you, and beats it. You don't retain anything earned in the level, save for "completing" it. And it only comes up if you've died in the same place like 10 times - hardly an integral feature. I can't imagine anyone's decision to buy/not buy this will come down to the Super Guide. As for Galaxy 2, IMO that's a good example of a truly hard game, not one that fails to explain what's happening.
  • Fuzunga - November 19, 2010 8:13 p.m.

    You do realize the super guide is there to counterbalance the difficulty, right? It seems really unprofessional to NOT EVEN MENTION IT when it's such an integral feature. Therefore, I deem this review as "bad". And I DEFINITELY died just as many times in Super Mario Galaxy 2.
  • thefreakysurgeon - November 19, 2010 7:56 p.m.

    i'm probably not going to get this game, cuz i didn't really like the first DKC.
  • n00b - November 19, 2010 7:47 p.m.

    remember that epic Micky is coming out as well this years seems to be a good year for wii
  • Tenfey - November 19, 2010 7:34 p.m.

    I didn't know he had left.
  • Pruman - November 19, 2010 7:05 p.m.

    OMG, that Nintendo Power tape is still hidden somewhere in my parents' house. Anyone else remember the black and red "PLAY IT LOUD" ads in NP that DKC was a centerpiece of, or am I just that old? Anyways, after reading this, I've concluded this game might be too much for my girlfriend. I've coaxed her into playing video games with both Mario Galaxies, New SMB Wii, a little Band Hero, and Kirby's Epic Yarn, but I have a feeling she'll give up on this pretty quick. That said, I'm still buying it. The original DKC still holds a special place in my heart because it was a rare case of Nintendo both acknowledging its competition (late 80's/early 90's Nintendo mostly pretended that anything opposed to it didn't exist), and then mercilessly stomping it into the ground. Their message was "after this, what the hell do you need a PlayStation or Saturn for?" It worked on me...at least until Final Fantasy VII came out!
  • Aletheon - November 19, 2010 7:04 p.m.

    I just got through the challenge and endless frustration of God Hard mode in Vanquish, so another annoyingly difficult game sounds wonderful! =\
  • EnragedTortoise1 - November 19, 2010 6:59 p.m.

    Will rent if I have the time- looks really fun. And smooth. Also, I LOVE YOUR NEW VIDEO PLAYER. Ohmygod. I LOVE IT.
  • CH3BURASHKA - November 19, 2010 6:55 p.m.

    Can't wait to hear you guys talk about it on the podcast, mostly for the DKC music in the background. Sorry for the double post; I'm just so fucking excited!!!
  • BigBoss - November 19, 2010 6:54 p.m.

    Brett, your review was the one I have been waiting for the most. Well written, really looking forward to getting this.
  • CH3BURASHKA - November 19, 2010 6:53 p.m.

    No fucking way! I didn't know you guys had an early review for this! Thanks for this Friday treat! As for your impressions, slightly disappointing. Granted, it's hard to revive a series after a decade or so, but that's what QA testers are for! And as for the waggle, ugh... Nintendo must have forced Rare to use it - I can't see any other reason for them to think it would be a good idea. And another thing! It really sucks you can't switch between monkeys. It was apparently very useful in the original trilogy (my little mind couldn't understand it properly, however), and this decision really limits the level design. I only hope DKCR sells enough to warrant a sequel in which they get it ALL right... and then another one for good measure. PS Are there any unlockable characters? Can I play as Super Kong? Any other cameos?
  • mynameisjay - November 19, 2010 6:48 p.m.

    Last time I played Donkey Kong Country I got so frustrated I threw the controller across the room. At least the Wiimotes have padding D:
  • shnazzyone - November 19, 2010 6:39 p.m.

    God i love these super reviews. Really gives you an idea of what to expect. Shame there is no classic controller config... but it looks more then worthy of an 8.
  • Romination - November 19, 2010 6:37 p.m.

    Retro at it's prime!? I see what you did there! Cuz Retro made Metroid Prime!
  • Felixthecat - November 19, 2010 6:33 p.m.

    YUSS NEW VIDEO PLAYER (I THINK)! Anyway, I kinda expected this. It simply didn't "look" like it was going to get a 10, if you know what I mean. Still, it looks and sounds like a fantastic game, and being such a platformer fanboy and DK fan, I'll probably get it for Christmas.
  • DynamicJul - November 19, 2010 6:32 p.m.

    This new video player is much better =D
  • awsomemaster - November 19, 2010 6:28 p.m.

    wait did you guys make a new video player?
  • Engage183 - November 19, 2010 6:25 p.m.

    I would guess that a lot of the control issues would probably be fixed completely if they made it have classic controller capability, hopefully platformers on the Wii will start to interpret that control scheme into their games.
  • revrock - November 19, 2010 6:22 p.m.

    Got this pre-ordered and I love the Sunday releases! Between his and Gran Turismo 5, Novemeber will be a graet month for old favorites. OK, with DKCR, Kirby, Sin & Punishment 2, Monster Hunter Tri, Tasunoko v Capcom, Mario Galaxy 2, No More Heroes 2, NBA Jam, and NHL Slapshot all scoring 8's and above on GR... I'll say it again,as unlikely and surprising as it may be, 2010 has been the year of the Wii.

Showing 41-60 of 62 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 21 2010 - Wii (US)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Retro Studios
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Mild Cartoon Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.