Google+

E3 2010: Why wait? E3's hottest games reviewed NOW – Wednesday edition

Shares

Once again, E3 is here to fill our hearts and souls with dreams of amazing games we’ll get to play at some point in the distant future. And once again the horrifying potential for tragedy exists – these games may actually not be fantastic. So, once again we’ve stepped up and tapped into the future to determine what scores these games will ultimately get. So don’t worry – just read on. We guarantee beyond all shadow of a doubt that these scores are 100% accurate. To within 10 points, at least.

Marvel vs Capcom 3

Within a few short matches of this 3-on-3 seizure –scrapper we knew it was up for game of the show. The simplified controls take the best parts of previous Vs games and blend them into something totally new yet immediately familiar to longtime players. Even with this streamlined input, the combos and reality-breaking super moves still impress and we can’t imagine a single hardcore fighting fan being upset. Don’t know your launch attacks from your curly mustaches? Doesn’t matter – all the Marvel and Capcom love will undoubtedly offer something for just about everyone. In short, even if you never cared before, you need to see and play it to make sure your stance hasn’t changed.

Score: 9

Twisted Metal

Our time with the new Twisted Metal was brief, but gratifying. The action is faster, smoother, more fun and less confusing than its ever been, and it left us wanting more. We’re not wild about the radical overhaul of the roster – rather than a diverse cast of vehicular psychos, the new game divides its characters into four factions, based on a single personality (so far we’ve seen Clowns and Dolls, but the other two have yet to be revealed). But the action itself was fun, as we tore around in a ‘60s ambulance, guided remote-controlled suicide bombers on rocket-powered gurneys into our enemies and did our best to figure out the secret special attacks, which we’re told are making a return. We’re also intrigued by the addition of a helicopter, and we’re eager to find out exactly how it won’t be a game-breakingly powerful monster. It’s hard to imagine actually being disappointed by this by the time it releases.

Score: 9

Dead Space 2

The first Dead Space was surprisingly spooky and satisfying, but we’ll admit it did get a bit tedious at times – and the less said about that asteroid-shooting bit, the better. But the sequel ramps things up deliciously. Hero Isaac returns, and he’s yet again the only guy with the balls to go walking around a ghoul-infested space station while everyone else cowers around a radio transmitter somewhere safe(ish). He’s got more catastrophic set pieces and bigger, more varied baddies to saw into pieces this time, but he also has some new weapons, a little more speed (the curb stomp, melee swipe and stasis all come out more quickly) and he can jet around zero-G environments like a very slow Iron Man. Finally, he’s got a more badass, aggressive attitude – he even talks now. No word on the story yet, but this is looking very good.

Score: 8

Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit

The Hot Pursuit games have always been everyone’s favorite entries in the Need for Speed series – if you didn’t like Hot Pursuit 2, just give your game console away because you clearly don’t like fun. And with the developers who created the Burnout games holding the keys, it’s almost unsurprising that this is easily the ultimate game of cops and robbers. Wanna get behind the wheel of a police cruiser and chase down the perps, using EMPs and roadblocks to slow ‘em down? Go for it. Or would you rather be the elite criminal in the fuzz-busting sports car, complete with a RADAR jammer and decoys? Your choice. Toss in lush looks and simply amazing online/social tools that enable you to exactly track your friends’ progress compared to your own. We’ll be amazed if this one doesn’t get the brass ring.

Score: 10

SOCOM 4

The latest SOCOM has more personality than we’ve come to expect from the series, and sports various concessions to modern shooter conventions – like regenerating health and sticky cover – that make it less realistic, but more immediately fun.  What makes it especially interesting are your AI partners, which are divided into two teams that can be commanded into position (where they’ll shoot any hostlies they see, more accurately than you) just by hitting left or right on the d-pad. It’s also possible to call in airstrikes on big targets, which involves locking onto them for a few seconds with a laser and then watching the massive fireworks. We also tried this with Move, but honestly it wasn’t that much different from controlling a shooter with Wii controls; the Move is more sensitive, but trying to target with a remote wand that has to be kept pointed at the screen adds a layer of distraction not found in the comfort of a DualShock 3.

Score: 9

Topics

E3 E3 2010

We Recommend

33 comments

  • GangsterJew92 - June 19, 2010 3:29 a.m.

    I definitely agree with Halo: Reach being a 10, but I think Dead Space 2 should also be a 10. I mean, the first one was great, and this looks even better.
  • GoodGuyWithACrappyJob - June 18, 2010 4:50 a.m.

    The supreme accomplishment is to blur the line between work and play, in the words of Arnold Toynbee. Need for Speed is what I'm looking for, though. If they can pull off the same sense of fun and, well, speed, as II did, then this year is one of the best ever. Cannot wait. Although I'll have to work 25 hours a day now to pay for this stuff.
  • shyfonzie - June 17, 2010 11:25 p.m.

    "The Brass Ring" sounds pretty sexual.
  • dhfjhb - June 17, 2010 2:28 p.m.

    Welcome to----------------- http://www.traderwear.com ---------------------- ------------ All kinds of world brand shoes,jeans,t-shirts,bikini,beach pants,handbags,wallets,sunglasses,belt,caps,watches etc..Nike shox (R4,NZ,OZ,TL1,TL2,TL3) $35,Sunglasses(Oakey,coach,gucci,Armaini) $16,Sunglasses(Oakey,coach,gucci,Armaini) $16 New era cap $15 --------------- have some cheap things ...--------------------- --------------- have some good gift ...--------------------- --------------------------- free shipping! ----------------- http://www.traderwear.com -------------------------------- --
  • dhfjhb - June 17, 2010 2:14 p.m.

    Welcome to----------------- http://www.traderwear.com ---------------------- ------------ All kinds of world brand shoes,jeans,t-shirts,bikini,beach pants,handbags,wallets,sunglasses,belt,caps,watches etc..Nike shox (R4,NZ,OZ,TL1,TL2,TL3) $35,Sunglasses(Oakey,coach,gucci,Armaini) $16,Sunglasses(Oakey,coach,gucci,Armaini) $16 New era cap $15 --------------- have some cheap things ...--------------------- --------------- have some good gift ...--------------------- --------------------------- free shipping! ----------------- http://www.traderwear.com -------------------------------- --
  • itkonlyyou1285 - June 17, 2010 2:12 p.m.

    Hello! The burning hot summer arrived, this is the demonstration stature good season, the retreat winter sincere appearance, lets lithe, the individuality, the fashion, the sex appeal, mature you start from here! Has a good news to tell everybody: Recently, every bought full 200 US dollars in this company, then has the present to see off, Vietnam which buys delivers are more, please do not miss this good opportunity!!! welcome to :==== http://www.smalltrade.net ======= free shipping competitive price any size available accept the paypal Jame shoes $40 Air jordan(1-24)shoes $33 Jordan Spizike shoes $35 Jordan 2010 shoes $40 air max 2010,2009 shoes $37 Nike shox(R4,NZ,OZ,TL1,TL2,TL3) $35 Handbags(Coach lv fendi d&g) $35 Tshirts (ed hardy,lacoste) $16 AF tshirt $25 Jean(True Religion,VERSACE,coogi) $30 Sunglasses(Oakey,coach,gucci,Armaini) $16 New era cap $15 FREE sHIPPING ====== http://www.smalltrade.net ===== ` ╰—┘ 。 ┅★`_、 │\__╭╭╭╭╭__/│    │           │   │           │  │ ●       ● │  │≡    o    ≡│ │           │  ╰——┬O◤▽◥O┬——╯    |  o  |    |╭---╮| ┌┬┬┬┐  ╞╧╧╧╧══╧╧╧╧╧╧╧╧╡
  • nadrewod999 - June 17, 2010 2:09 p.m.

    AAAAAHHHHHHH!!!!!!!! THE SPAM-BOTS ARE ATTACKING!!! EVERYONE TO THE n00b SHELTERS!!
  • nadrewod999 - June 17, 2010 2:07 p.m.

    I think you should have held off on reviewing Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions until every dimension was revealed, even though I believe the score will be the same no matter what.
  • itkonlyyou1285 - June 17, 2010 2:03 p.m.

    Hello! The burning hot summer arrived, this is the demonstration stature good season, the retreat winter sincere appearance, lets lithe, the individuality, the fashion, the sex appeal, mature you start from here! Has a good news to tell everybody: Recently, every bought full 200 US dollars in this company, then has the present to see off, Vietnam which buys delivers are more, please do not miss this good opportunity!!! welcome to :==== http://www.smalltrade.net ======= free shipping competitive price any size available accept the paypal Jame shoes $40 Air jordan(1-24)shoes $33 Jordan Spizike shoes $35 Jordan 2010 shoes $40 air max 2010,2009 shoes $37 Nike shox(R4,NZ,OZ,TL1,TL2,TL3) $35 Handbags(Coach lv fendi d&g) $35 Tshirts (ed hardy,lacoste) $16 AF tshirt $25 Jean(True Religion,VERSACE,coogi) $30 Sunglasses(Oakey,coach,gucci,Armaini) $16 New era cap $15 FREE sHIPPING ====== http://www.smalltrade.net ===== ` ╰—┘ 。 ┅★`_、 │\__╭╭╭╭╭__/│    │           │   │           │  │ ●       ● │  │≡    o    ≡│ │           │  ╰——┬O◤▽◥O┬——╯    |  o  |    |╭---╮| ┌┬┬┬┐  ╞╧╧╧╧══╧╧╧╧╧╧╧╧╡
  • dhfjhb - June 17, 2010 1:42 p.m.

    Welcome to----------------- http://www.traderwear.com ---------------------- ------------ All kinds of world brand shoes,jeans,t-shirts,bikini,beach pants,handbags,wallets,sunglasses,belt,caps,watches etc..Nike shox (R4,NZ,OZ,TL1,TL2,TL3) $35,Sunglasses(Oakey,coach,gucci,Armaini) $16,Sunglasses(Oakey,coach,gucci,Armaini) $16 New era cap $15 --------------- have some cheap things ...--------------------- --------------- have some good gift ...--------------------- --------------------------- free shipping! ----------------- http://www.traderwear.com -------------------------------- --
  • itkonlyyou1285 - June 17, 2010 1:11 p.m.

    Hello! The burning hot summer arrived, this is the demonstration stature good season, the retreat winter sincere appearance, lets lithe, the individuality, the fashion, the sex appeal, mature you start from here! Has a good news to tell everybody: Recently, every bought full 200 US dollars in this company, then has the present to see off, Vietnam which buys delivers are more, please do not miss this good opportunity!!! welcome to :==== http://www.smalltrade.net ======= free shipping competitive price any size available accept the paypal Jame shoes $40 Air jordan(1-24)shoes $33 Jordan Spizike shoes $35 Jordan 2010 shoes $40 air max 2010,2009 shoes $37 Nike shox(R4,NZ,OZ,TL1,TL2,TL3) $35 Handbags(Coach lv fendi d&g) $35 Tshirts (ed hardy,lacoste) $16 AF tshirt $25 Jean(True Religion,VERSACE,coogi) $30 Sunglasses(Oakey,coach,gucci,Armaini) $16 New era cap $15 FREE sHIPPING ====== http://www.smalltrade.net ===== ` ╰—┘ 。 ┅★`_、 │\__╭╭╭╭╭__/│    │           │   │           │  │ ●       ● │  │≡    o    ≡│ │           │  ╰——┬O◤▽◥O┬——╯    |  o  |    |╭---╮| ┌┬┬┬┐  ╞╧╧╧╧══╧╧╧╧╧╧╧╧╡
  • jianmei69 - June 17, 2010 12:24 p.m.

    Hello,everybody,the good shoping place,In the summer, click in. Let's facelift bar! ===== www.netetrader.com Air jordan(1-24)shoes $33 UGG BOOT $50 Nike shox(R4,NZ,OZ,TL1,TL2,TL3) $35 Handbags(Coach lv fendi d&g) $35 Tshirts (Polo ,ed hardy,lacoste) $16 Jean(True Religion,ed hardy,coogi) $30 Sunglasses(Oakey,coach,gucci,Armaini) $16 New era cap $15 Bikini (Ed hardy,polo) $25 FREE SHIPPING ++++ www.netetrader.com ++++++++++ +++ wow ▍ ★∴    ....▍▍....█▍ ☆ ★∵ ..../    ◥█▅▅██▅▅██▅▅▅▅▅███◤    .◥███████████████◤  ~~~~◥█████████████◤~~~~ *∕___/﹨   ∕      \  /\ ┬┴┬┴┬┴\    \_     ﹨/  ﹨
  • philipshaw - June 17, 2010 10:58 a.m.

    From what I have seen, I would have to agree with most of these scores but Dead Space 2 should be 10
  • Conman93 - June 17, 2010 9:26 a.m.

    Dead space will probably score higher but other than that, pretty great mini-reviews
  • crumbdunky - June 17, 2010 9:21 a.m.

    IDK how Halo games KEEP getting this level of praise and why ANYONE would consider giving a COD game 10/10 when, yet again, for the fourth effion year IT'S THE SAME GAME IN DIFFERENT UNIFORMS AND WE'LL ALL BE STUCK WIOTH EFFIN p2p IS BEYOND ME! HOW MUCH OF KOTICK'S FLOPPY MANHOOD DO YOU HAVEDOWN YOUR THROATS? In my head COD:BO will be yet another COD rental that I'm bored and frustrated with after a day or so. Crap, crap and more crap. Also, while Reach looks an improvement on Halo3 it's still just ,more of the same with added jetpacks as far as I can tell. Oh, and they reigned in, finally, the colour pallette. WOW. The beta was pretty well done but there's nothing remotely new there and, to me, it just isn't the big finale I'd hoped for from Bungie in saying goodbye to a great series. no doubt people will lap it up like it's God's own semen but haven't we had way too many auto assist games with a pick up and play mentality in shooters over the last four or five years? Fair enough Halo was one of the first, on console, but really, it's time to ramp things up a little and improving a mode they stole from Gears is NOT what I mean. Also, TM looks crap like all the other TM games and Jaffe has completely failed if he thinks that it's "subtle" enough to woo the EU/Jap markets.
  • JeffGoldblum1 - June 17, 2010 5:49 a.m.

    This isn't fun if you give them all good scores.
  • IChooseUAntistaMON - June 17, 2010 5 a.m.

    i love how on the podcast you rave about HR's music then the UK makes an article about how bad it was
  • ADeafGoat - June 17, 2010 4:52 a.m.

    Didn't they write or say earlier Reach looks uninspiring and going to be underwhelming like ODST? And then the expected score is 10? hmmmm.... fanboy alert
  • sleepy92ismypsn - June 17, 2010 4:33 a.m.

    By the time Twisted Metal is released it will be a 10. I'm pretty sure David Jaffe said the playable modes at e3 was a preview of the online portion only. i'm pretty sure the offline story mode will be just like the old games. come on Jaffe isn't going to change the game that much i hope. i bet there will also be a few modes that aren't faction based but free for alls where you can choose between all the psychos from the story mode.
  • CH3BURASHKA - June 17, 2010 4:30 a.m.

    Twisted Metal deserves no more than an 8 because its vehicular combat is old and stale, hence the franchise being dead for the past how-many years. This is one of my most favorite annual articles GR produces. I hope you guys do more for this E3 - I want to get the early skinny on all the Nintendo games (though I have a feeling there'll be 10's all around).

Showing 1-20 of 33 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.