Google+

FIFA 12 review

Great
Back to Article

24 comments

  • arafa-van-arshinov - April 16, 2012 7:06 a.m.

    Hello, Gamers...how do i get free Fifa 12 PS3 online.....is there anyway i can aquire redeem codes plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz i snt sm1 to get me FIFA 12 n instead he got PES n there's no way am playing ROBOCOP/ICE SKATING ON GRASS (PES) Plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz someone save a life plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz!!!!!!!!!
  • chrisantistas2inchpenis - October 3, 2011 2:36 p.m.

    I'm going to have to respectfully disagree with a few points. I think the new tackling system is fantastic. So much more like the real game, and a massive step up from last years edition. Also, after having the game for four days, I can win comfortably against teams on Professional, so personally I haven't found difficulty to be a problem. Lastly, you said that you can't really dance through the defence, but I seem to be able to do so myself (admittedly with players like Messi). Personally, I would have given this 9 or 10, but hey, it's your opinion!
  • Super Barn Owl - October 2, 2011 9:17 a.m.

    People need to open their eyes and realise that FIFA is just a poor mans pro evo. I don't think that licenses make up for shoddy gameplay.
  • rickrossthaboss - October 2, 2011 8:02 a.m.

    Completely disagree with this. (Kind of like another infamous 8 score given around this time last year, I won't name the game) If you give the game time and are committed to learning the new changes in defending and passing, there is no way you can say this game is less enjoyable than FIFA 11. I've spent some time playing each mode to get a grasp on the entire package, and FIFA 12 is better than any other FIFA game/ sports simulator out there. I understand the frustrations of experienced FIFA players when I say it sucks at the beginning. Now, literally 5 days after getting the game, I can go in and play as a 3 star team on world class and take Chelsea in to extra time and penalties. Also overlooked is the fact that if you are a soccer player and understand the game and how to properly defend, things become much easier. I have been able to use actual in-game knowledge and defensive tactics in FIFA to greatly decrease the learning curve in this iteration of FIFA. Never before could I say that about ANY sports sim. Yes, there are a number of things that are frustrating, such as the ball just bouncing off your defenders and into the path of a waiting forward, but that's just the same as anything else. I feel like all the negatives pointed out in this review were the result of a limited time playing a fantastic game that goes and decides to be different from last year. In my opinion, this game is a 10. In reality, It's probably a 9 or 9.5. It's a shame that something this good gets an 8 when literally everything they did, they improved from FIFA 11. My final words are to keep at the new defensive system. It's extremely rewarding when you grasp it and can make it work to your advantage. Patience is a virtue. ricky ross the boss OUT
  • GamesRadar_NathanIrvine - October 3, 2011 1:43 a.m.

    @rickrossthaboss Hello. Firstly, I played the game loads. Offline, online and in single player. I do that with every game that I review to make sure that I'm not missing out on anything. Secondly, I mention that the defensive system is necessary to keep the FIFA series moving forward. This is a good thing. It's not game breaking but it's simply not as instantly satisfying as it has been in past games and casual fans will struggle initially. Even you admit you need patience with it. Lastly, I didn't say FIFA 11 is a better game. You've looked at the score and made that assumption yourself. If we had to keep giving sequels a bigger score because of incremental tweaks for the better then we'd have to stretch our scoring system beyond 10. My main gripe is with the solo game and the AI making for a frustrating experience. If you stuck with it and worked out the defensive system, then well done to you, but not everyone will have the patience to do so.
  • Simon Humber - October 3, 2011 3:08 p.m.

    Hi Nathan. I concur that the difficulty gap between semi pro and pro was too large in the shipped disk. However it was addressed in the day 1 update. So have you played since that adjustment was made? Thanks Simon, FIFA Team.
  • GamesRadar_NathanIrvine - October 4, 2011 1:44 a.m.

    @Simon Humber I've played mostly multiplayer (online and offline) since the review stage but if the patch has been made to fix the semi-pro/pro difficulty settings then I'll go back and take a look. Thanks for the tip-off.
  • Pepsuber88 - October 1, 2011 1:14 p.m.

    good review, but now that I have had time to master the new defending (I had this game since last week because of the season pass), it truly works wonders! Offline mode becomes quite enjoyable. also, another thing that I would suggest is to take an underdog team, such as a Npower League 2 team, and take them to the top. Really fun, and it actually makes you care about your team. and on an unrelated note, this year's FIFA 12 soundtrack absolutely rocks!
  • JWedderz - October 1, 2011 2:42 a.m.

    I agree that agaist the AI it is very hard at first. think about it we all slated FIFA in the past for been far to simple. I think this year the balence is very even, we play high levels for the satisfaction of a win. I think this is what the series has been waiting for. leave it a month and the controls will be second nature, making the experience alot more enjoyable. lets face it if we could master the hardest setting in a few days of release than that would be a waste of £44 but thats just my views. fantastic reveiw Mr Irvine it gets a solid 9/10 from me.
  • A_Winner_Is_You - September 30, 2011 8:37 p.m.

    Yeah, I feel ever so slightly aggrieved over some of the new changes to the game and the over-emphasis on online play, which means the career mode isn't as rich as it could be. I don't play online. At all. And though us offline solo players might be a quiet minority, I know I'm not alone in this. The solo experience could and should be so much better. The line about spreadsheets being compelling in Football Manager is 100% spot on. Somebody e-mail this review to EA. As for the changes, I've actually switched tactical defending off and I'm finding the game much more enjoyable. Still very challenging and you still lose your fair share of games, but at least I feel I stand a chance against the AI now. I very seldom play as the big teams with the highest rated players, so maybe that explains why I've had such difficulty getting to grips with the new system. You just try learning tactical defending against Chelsea or Arsenal while using a team like Blackburn or QPR.
  • mothbanquet - October 1, 2011 4:13 a.m.

    I'm glad I read the review. I'm disappointed with the relative lack of lustre regarding the single player experience but, to be honest, with the new engine and everything the only way is up. Since I don't play FIFA online I'm going to wait and see if they give the whole single player an overhaul - and by the way things are going, I judge I won't be disappointed.
  • Jasman - September 30, 2011 7:54 p.m.

    Your review is somewhat of a relief. I couldn't get into the demo for the reasons you stated- rock hard AI, wayward passing etc, yet all the previews were full of lavish praise. I thought I was going mad, like part of my brain had forgotten how to play football games or something. Anyway, it'll be interesting to see how PES fairs in comparison. I miss Master League :P
  • tsakas6 - September 30, 2011 1:37 p.m.

    You must be joking! Only an 8!?! So many worse games got a rate above that and you rate FIFA 12 with this score? You probaply have been playing another game...
  • JWedderz - October 3, 2011 2:58 p.m.

    Yes that’s it. A game reviewer is that stupid that he rated the wrong game. Maybe and just a little maybe he was playing Tiger Woods and just didn’t notice. You pound life!!! Or perhaps it was you who read the wrong review or even the wrong website when in fact you were looking for toaster reviews.
  • sternparez - September 30, 2011 11:50 a.m.

    Totally agree with review although you missed out what's still my biggest gripe since I since I switched to FIFA in '09. The awful lagging menu's! Sure EA will include Rooney's hair transplant but not something as fundamental as setting up your team. You still can't change a DM to a CM without creating a new formation it's totally absurd. Plus the fact that it lags and seems to save the data after every button press, horrible!
  • thomflint - September 30, 2011 11:41 a.m.

    I also agree with the comment about the dodgy passing. I played the demo quite a bit and often found passes randomly flying off in completely the wrong direction - very frustrating! Perhaps a sport that relies so much on the 'bounce of the ball' (i.e. luck) is never going to be accurately recreated as a computer game where everything is preprogrammed?
  • higgins78 - September 30, 2011 10:24 a.m.

    I agree with the score and finer points based on the demo doing the rounds. Feels to me like (and while I applaud EA for making the effort) changing the defending completely has robbed the game of the mantra "easy to play hard to master". Now it appears to be more "hard to play as it is to master". A good game for sure but - least for me - a step backwards from Fifa 11's fun attitude. Now its possible to pick up Fifa 11 new for roughly £10-15...no way is Fifa 12 a game which is £25 pounds better.
  • Xobi - September 30, 2011 8:02 a.m.

    Great Great review. I felt the same problems........although Fifa is a great game overall.......i understand what you say
  • Oxtranzor - September 30, 2011 8 a.m.

    I know i'm gonna be seen as spam, but what the hell... If you bought FIFA 12 how to the soundtrack options and hear a song called ''buen salvaje'' by ''La Vida Boheme'', they're a venezuelan group ( ;) my country! yeiiii!) maybe you won't like that song as much, but here the rest of the thir songs aand you'll fall in love with them pleeeaaaase hear it and you'll make my day :D
  • Oxtranzor - September 30, 2011 8:03 a.m.

    damnnit!! i hate my spelling and grammar!! I meant to say ''go to the soundtrack'' and ''listen to the rest of their songs''

Showing 1-20 of 24 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS Vita, Wii, 3DS, PSP, PC, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Sports
Franchise: FIFA

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.