Google+

Final Fantasy XIII-2 review

Excellent
Back to Article

66 comments

  • profile0000 - January 28, 2012 8:16 p.m.

    Hey, not a bad video review. Sterling's voice was a bit too quiet I thought though. As for the game, a nine seems right, but I haven't played it so I'll wait for the SuperReview for the more specific details.
  • obviouslyadouche - January 28, 2012 8:01 p.m.

    I Want a text review
  • DeathbyFira - January 28, 2012 7:52 p.m.

    nice review i hope you have a video review for soul caliber 5 soon also and i like both types of reviews writing and video so it doesn't bother me you still awesome GR in what you do keep up the good work
  • quincytheodore - January 28, 2012 6:20 p.m.

    It's nice that you've video review now, but please make it Youtube. I know it's advertising thing, but... Oh, well.
  • bobob101 - January 28, 2012 5:05 p.m.

    Nice how the commercial is for FF 13 before I watch a review of it.
  • coltsfanca - January 29, 2012 1:03 a.m.

    lol I got that too
  • Money - January 28, 2012 4:58 p.m.

    It looks so...annoying
  • lordgodalming - January 28, 2012 4:50 p.m.

    Thanks for the vid, GR, but your writing is really what sets you apart from other sites. Can't wait for the written review!
  • kingsmikefan - January 29, 2012 11:22 a.m.

    Not anymore, they fired most of the good writers. And a video review, huh? Trying really hard to be IGN aren't you? Ironically, IGN has become a bit like old GR.
  • Scoob - January 28, 2012 4:17 p.m.

    The lack of exploration never really bothered me much in XIII (though I prefer more exploration). I still enjoyed X. The game breaker was the combat system that played itself. Looks like I'm skipping this one. It's weird how the "You'll Love" has "Battle system still rules", but the tone of the review seemed disappointed in it. Good review otherwise. I'm still interested to see how well it does though. FF XIII hasn't even been re-released as a greatest hits game on both the PS3 and the Xbox 360. I got Final Fantasy VIII brand new in 2005. Final Fantasy XII I think I got in 2009. They don't linger as long as they used to. But what I'm trying to point out is that this series was always popular enough to hold a space on retail shelves for years. I'm also curious how story oriented gamers (oxymoron, I know) who dropped XIII due it's gameplay take this one, seeing as it starts right where the previous one left off. Will they screw the story to try the new one? Skip it because of the gaps? Or begrudgingly play XIII just to see what happens?
  • DevonOO7 - January 28, 2012 3:52 p.m.

    Carolyn will be missed from GR.
  • NightCrawler_358 - January 28, 2012 3:46 p.m.

    Nice Review! The video player worked for me this time, but maybe it'd be a safe call to post these videos on Youtube, if you haven't done that already. Also, I liked the flow of the praises and complaints, but maybe it'd be more digestible in sections, similar to what IGN does in their video reviews. About the game itself, I enjoyed XIII despite its glaring flaws, and after playing the demo of XIII-2, I really think it's a perfect fit for me. I hated the summons in most final fantasies besides X, so I like the monster system, and I love the fact you can change party leaders. So in the case of love-it-or-hate-it, I'll probably love it, and as a side note I'm glad for the easier difficulty, because I I always get stuck in FFs and have to put them aside.
  • Clovin64 - January 28, 2012 3:38 p.m.

    Almost every review I've read mentions that XIII-2 is bit too short and easy compared to the original XIII, so if Hard mode is unlocked from the start here, I'll definitely go straight for that.
  • MsSmith - January 28, 2012 3:27 p.m.

    Although I don't like the use of a video for a review (it feels like there could have been more in depth detail added but was hindered do to trying to fit everything into a brief video), I'm still psyched for this game & seeing a positive review like this makes me even more excited! :D
  • Cyberninja - January 28, 2012 3:41 p.m.

    well in the article it states they will have a super review next week
  • MsSmith - January 28, 2012 3:59 p.m.

    I know, I hope they get more in detail with it.
  • playswithsquirrels - January 28, 2012 7:10 p.m.

    That's kind of how super reviews work. Usually about 3 pages.
  • Tymiegie - January 28, 2012 3:06 p.m.

    Works now; for me, at least
  • Tymiegie - January 28, 2012 2:37 p.m.

    I can't get the video to work either. Even tried multiple web-browsers.
  • CancerMan - January 28, 2012 2:36 p.m.

    Still doesn't work...

Showing 41-60 of 66 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Square Enix
Developed by: Square Enix
Franchise: Final Fantasy
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Drug Reference, Simulated Gambling, Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes, Mild Language
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.