Google+

Gran Turismo 5 review

Solid
Back to Article

144 comments

  • Parsley - November 29, 2010 5:52 p.m.

    Now lets see if when GT6 comes out in 5 years it will fix it. Dont know if ill still be paying much attention to it though.
  • totalweapon - November 29, 2010 5:47 p.m.

    this is the lowest review score by far out of the ten or so I've seen. make up your own mind about that.
  • BodyDamage - November 29, 2010 5:38 p.m.

    i have been blasting around in gt5 with my driving force GT wheel, (same as pictured but without the fantastic seat) since release and ya know... i agree with most of this. i've been shocked by some of the visuals, both positively and negatively, racing online with people in your friends list is great but the regular online racing seems unnecessarily confusing to jump into, and i have just HAD it with the bumpy pushy terrible AI. however, the highest percentage of the fun for me, and reason why i bought the game, is all in the driving. so much of my gran turismo time is spent on a track (usually deep forest) with a freshly built/purchased/tuned car, and hammering out the fastest lap possible with one or two friends in tow trying to beat what ive just set. its all about the driving, which is where GT5 still gets it right. I do wish that instead of 1000 cars it were more like 600 cars at premium level, and that tuning was back to its level of detail from gt4 (no brakes or aero adjustments?). I was really looking forward to your review, and i'm sad to see the outcome, but the more i read it the more i really got a feeling of "ya know..that's true." This all being said, I do still love it, i love the driving physics and (most of) the new graphics and the fact that the online exists. I feel gran turismo is still in there, you may not see it until you pull another tenth off that lap you thought couldn't possibly have more time in it, but even through all of the faff and missteps (of which there are many) that the game has taken, you put it best when you said "The real fun comes from taking the fast cars onto the proper race tracks and enjoying the impeccable simulation of grip and weight distribution you'd get in a real racing car, which is still good enough to pull it out of the increasingly big hole it's dug itself." Truth. even if it is unfortunately only just.
  • Clovin64 - November 29, 2010 5:31 p.m.

    Ouch, I can feel your pain Justin. This should have been the racer for the PS3 to be proud of, a truly stunning console experience to make the 360 owners burn with envy. This sounds very dissapointing. I was hoping for a game that would make me feel like I was playing GT3 for the first time on my 2 week old PS2. I hope you'll be present on Talkradar UK this week to discuss this Justin.
  • ChrisCultista - November 29, 2010 5:28 p.m.

    I was watching the video with the load screen in it. At first I was like "That's a little slow". Then I was like "There it goes!" Then I was like "Really?" Then I was like "Oh, wow. Oh,wow!" Then I was like "That's sad." On the GT3 vs GT5. GT5 sounds like angry leaf blowers. GT3 sounds like some fuckin race cars.
  • QWERTYCommander - November 29, 2010 5:26 p.m.

    @Channel4 Fuck off. @Justin Good review. I remember playing the time trial demo too, and I did notice the cross-polygon trees. I just thought "What the hell. The graphics are supposed to be amazing. Oh well, maybe they will improve upon the final release." Now I know this isn't the case. Hot Pursuit it is.
  • tomthespesh - November 29, 2010 5:20 p.m.

    Although I don't have a PS3 I was looking forward to this as I am a Gran Turismo lover, and own 1-4 (3 is also my favourite SNAP!) kinda sad to hear all the problems with it. Still instead of the whole unlocking damage could they not of gone the Forza route of earn more/less money if it's on/off? Still hopefully one of my mates will get it and I can compare it to Forza and suchlike myself. Good review Justin.
  • Wolverine08 - November 29, 2010 5:17 p.m.

    What a load of complete and utter balls. It's sad, because this I KNOW for a fact is the best racing simulation made in my opinion having played it. It shows that arcade racing is quickly taking over, with unrealistic handling (cough cough raise your hand DIRT2) and face tearing speeds on 10 meter straights. I prefer a slower but exciting experience,this delivers that, so, I'm happy. No wonder my mates call me Captain Slow...
  • ShaneCedt - November 29, 2010 5:17 p.m.

    How many years in development? Where did the game developers miss out on making the game "fun"? And I can't believe the load times, even with the "50 minute" (!) data installed. Friggin absurd. The graphics were supposed to be astounding. Some of the screens look PS2 quality. Had this on MyGameQ, but I think I'm taking it off.
  • RabidCabbage - November 29, 2010 5:12 p.m.

    Pretty shocked, glad I waited for the review. Hot Pursuit it is. Nice one, Justin.
  • Channel4 - November 29, 2010 5:10 p.m.

    Very harsh review. What was the point of bringing GT3 into this? Sim racing games get better with the technology so how on earth can you say with a straight face that GT3 is the best racing sim ever. That really is blind nostalgia! As a normal priced game GT5 is unmatched in it's genre in terms of content and has one of the best driving models around. For the majority of fans that is all that matters and in that sense it's almost a complete success.
  • notallgoodnameswheretaken - November 29, 2010 5:07 p.m.

    Wow. Did not expect that.
  • space_cakes - November 29, 2010 5:03 p.m.

    At least it sounds like they are standing behind the game with regular updates that promise to poli... wait, how long did it take to develop this game again?
  • ithurtstopoop - November 29, 2010 5:03 p.m.

    like an ugly guy eventually getting laid, this review was worth the wait. good job Justin
  • FortyVsZero - November 29, 2010 5 p.m.

    Great review, I am a disliker of the simulation racing genre, but Iplayed Forza 3 a considerable amount. For GT -GEE TEE- to not even appear close to reaching the bar set by a game released months ago is pretty shocking. Also I agree with QLev, so in advance, Justin we all love you. Great review.
  • FoxdenRacing - November 29, 2010 4:55 p.m.

    I figured GT5 wouldn't live up to the hype, but this is genuinely shocking, even for a guy that chose Forza over GT back at F2/GT4. Never would I have guessed a GT game would score less than 9, and it shows how far they've fallen that they're willing to cut corners like that. As far back as GT3 rain would track into tunnels and things. Kudos on a very brutally honest, screw-the-hype-here's-how-it-is review. I'm sure neither Sony nor the fans will be happy about it, mind; prepare for pages upon pages of angry comments, and for that you've got my sympathy. One question, though: In the 'Is it better than' section, you describe Forza 3 as 'sterile'. I'm not asking in its defense, merely out of curiosity...but do wonder what you mean by it.
  • QLev - November 29, 2010 4:52 p.m.

    I have a feeling this comment section is going to erupt in the near future. I'm enjoying the calm while it lasts. I've never played it so I have no opinion on the game, but the review seemed very honest and thought-out. Well done.
  • theamazingmrpotato - November 29, 2010 4:51 p.m.

    I think everything you said is cmpletely justified when looking at that comparison video. Having never played a GT game, watching the fifth one first i was impressed to say the least but then to see how little its improved since 3 considering the improvements this generation has made, its slightly worrying. What te hell were they doing for five years???
  • Spacegrass - November 29, 2010 4:50 p.m.

    Maybe instead of adding NASCAR races and a hundred different versions of a Honda Civic, they could have spent all those years fixing the graphics and load times. It's a good thing I stopped caring about this game around the thirtieth time it was delayed.
  • Baron164 - November 29, 2010 4:49 p.m.

    I had a feeling that this would be the case. It just goes to show when you try to do everything, you end up doing nothing particularly well. I definitely won't be picking this up. Looks like Forza will still be my goto sim racer.

Showing 121-140 of 144 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Racing
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Polyphony Digital
Franchise: Gran Turismo
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Mild Lyrics
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.