Google+

Halo 3: ODST review

Solid
Back to Article

82 comments

  • ragingearth - September 20, 2009 10:39 p.m.

    I'm sick of halo. Almost as sick of it as I am of Guitar Hero/Rock Band releases every other week. Still not interested.
  • Defguru7777 - September 20, 2009 10:10 p.m.

    Not to criticize, but it seems like your problems with the game didn't justify dropping the score three points. So the gameplay is the same as Halo 3. That's not a bad thing. Gears 2 was a carbon copy of Gears 1 but its still a fantastic game. I think your review is accurate (I haven't played it yet), because it sound like you took a serious look at the game. But those negative points just don't seem like that big of a deal. I've always said you guys weren't biased toward Sony, and the evidence is your disinterest in Halo. I don't mean that as an insult, it's just an observation.
  • martainsquid - September 20, 2009 9:33 p.m.

    shame it only got a 7, but i'm still going to buy at and will probally still love it
  • John-117 - September 20, 2009 8:45 p.m.

    I never really planned to play ODST, but I may give it a rent; at least to play a bit of firefight and speed through the campaign to see what's going on. Halo:CE is the only Halo that I think deserves its recognition, but hopefully Reach can recapture the great feel that the first had.
  • Axcle - September 20, 2009 3:57 p.m.

    This doesn't really change my opinion about the game. I would have expected an 8, though. But your score is well justified, so i'll respect it.
  • Redeater - September 20, 2009 3:28 p.m.

    Sadly I will still buy this game on launch....tragic
  • CreeplyTuna - September 20, 2009 2:49 p.m.

    did you seriously just compare an rts and a n fps? come on guys!
  • Dexsus - September 20, 2009 2:48 p.m.

    Mmmmhh....Well I've been planning to go to a midnight launch of this thing for awhile so might as well go through with it. At the very least this should hold me over until OF:Dragon Rising.
  • jar-head - September 20, 2009 2:46 p.m.

    I Kick All ass on Heroic, FireFight should be Kick ass, but i'm not sure about the campaign, i'll let you know Tuesday at 12:01
  • clucky120 - September 20, 2009 2:44 p.m.

    i'm not really caring about score i don't have live so i want all the maps
  • PhantomOfKrankor - September 20, 2009 2:38 p.m.

    A hot girl working at gamestop convinced me to preorder this. I didn't want it then, and I don't really want it now. Damn you Christina!!!!!!
  • FartsOnMilk - September 20, 2009 2:30 p.m.

    I will pick this up eventually and it is a good deal for me (anyways) since I don't have any of the MP mappacks for Halo 3. Its just too bad that you can't take the ODSTs online in there own versions of slayer and other modes. Either way it doesn't sound half bad.
  • Pr0fesserCha0s - September 20, 2009 1:35 p.m.

    I hate Halo (Breathes Heavily)
  • magicwalnuts0 - September 20, 2009 8:39 a.m.

    WOOO! Another laughably short campaign for a game franchise that has an excellent Sci-Fi backstory. EPIC FAIL, my 360 just RRoD'd for the third time, so I'm definitely never playing this game, cause I'm not repairing that piece of shit. reCaptcha: Episcopal Coinage
  • Romination - September 20, 2009 6:18 a.m.

    am i the only one who saw the 'we definitely haven't played THIS before' video and thought 'wow i've totally played that before'?
  • CountFenring - September 20, 2009 6:15 a.m.

    Good review, I'll probably buy this when it drops so I can get into Reach just because I hope it'll be like Halo Ghost Recon. I do love the Halo universe, so I think I'll enjoy this too.
  • legory - September 20, 2009 6:05 a.m.

    I am definitely getting this game. I am a huge Halo fan, and thus I add the +1. I've been looking forward to this game for almost a year, your less-than-enthusiastic review won't stop me from buying it! ReCAPTCHA: Dymshits egress
  • WhiteCoco - September 20, 2009 4:50 a.m.

    Without online matchmaking for the Firefight mode, ODST won't be as fondly remembered as Halo 3. Not to mention its full game price tag. I really wanted to buy this game but as the months went by, my interest waned and I'm just going to rent it for the single-player. Perhaps I'll buy a copy if its 20 dollars cheaper.
  • ChewedAlfredo - September 20, 2009 4:29 a.m.

    ahhh yaaaaa i am definately pickin uup me some of dat ODST! HOOAH!
  • ChrisAntistaSmellsLikePizza - September 20, 2009 4:28 a.m.

    I might try a rent first, then see from there if I really consider it a Halo expansion that truly expands and adds new flares to a pretty "O.K." formula, not just adds new multi-player maps, or if it is just another (all be it upgraded) version of horde/survival mode.

Showing 61-80 of 82 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: Bungie
Franchise: Halo
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Language, Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.