Google+

Halo: Reach super review

Great
Back to Article

326 comments

  • pradius - September 12, 2010 5:18 a.m.

    First sentence of the Joystiq.com Halo Reach review = "The Campaign is easily the series' best."
  • pradius - September 12, 2010 5:16 a.m.

    Don't listen to GR. They are smoking crack. 1UP A+ GamePro 5 out 5 Stars Joystiq 5 out 5 Stars IGN UK 10 Destructoid 10 IGN Review 9.5 GameInformer 9.5 Gametrailers 9.3 Eurogamer 9 GiantBomb 4 out 5 Stars
  • bongzilla - September 12, 2010 5:15 a.m.

    Oh man all of a sudden I don't want the game as bad as I did. I'll still get it, but I cant wait a little longer now..
  • pradius - September 12, 2010 5:15 a.m.

    Just lost respect for reviews here. 8? Isn't that what Crackdown 2 got? Gamesradar is smoking that funny stuff again. So sad.
  • FatherTime - September 12, 2010 5:12 a.m.

    Last comment Tell me this gamesradar. Will you still be playing Halo: Reach in 2 or 3 years? The answer is probably yes if its anything like Halo 3. How many games can you say that about? That you were able to jump in and enjoy consistently for years? It seems you have forgotten games are about fun and Halo has a way of making that $60 dollars last longer than any other shooter on the market. Just don't see how that value is an 8.
  • Fuzunga - September 12, 2010 4:55 a.m.

    Only review I've read so far that didn't like the campaign.
  • FatherTime - September 12, 2010 4:51 a.m.

    @servo Ha ha yeah I might as well apparently I would have just as much fun that way.
  • KaiokenKid - September 12, 2010 4:51 a.m.

    @friendlyfire.: Eh, hes not nearly as bad as most of those Purchase justifyers that were commenting in the killzone 2 review.
  • NotBraze - September 12, 2010 4:48 a.m.

    I'm definitely a single player kinda guy, I'll get online occasionally when I'm bored, but I'd much rather have a single player campaign that keeps me coming back than a great multiplayer element. I'm a little bit disappointed that this wasn't the balls-out, let's send Halo out with the biggest bang we possibly can, game we thought it would be, and I'm also disappointed that Halo seems to be following the trend that Call of Duty is leading by focussing most of the man power on multiplayer and leaving the single player campaign half-finished.
  • Servo - September 12, 2010 4:46 a.m.

    @Father Time. lol welcome to the party. Band Hero is only 24.99 at Gamestop, think we should save ourselves 35 bucks!
  • FatherTime - September 12, 2010 4:42 a.m.

    Holy shit I forgot this site gave MW2 a 10. Disregard anything I said before about this review maybe being correct. If you will give a game with a 4.5 hour horse shit campaign and the most buggy unbalanced multi-player ever a 10 and a game with endless customization and a campaign of 10 hours an 8 then never mind. Atleast I can see you have moved to your "its cool to bash popular things stage". I remember 9th grade too.
  • FriendlyFire - September 12, 2010 4:41 a.m.

    @KaoikenKid: Apparently you've missed the poster right above you :P
  • Servo - September 12, 2010 4:41 a.m.

    @hobojesse. please calm down hobo. I'm just laying out facts. No need to get all blammed up on Charlies blams. =) but I guess this review will get them some hits. Gotta pay the bills somehow. btw, BFBC2 is a glitch-riddles mess. The multiplayer has had significant problems that have been present since release. I have over 5 days into MP on it, and played the Reach beta. He lost all credibility when he basically said it was a toss-up between reach and Bad company.
  • Brutus - September 12, 2010 4:41 a.m.

    lol, people on the B.net forums a flippin out that someone gave it an 8.5, wait until they get a loook at this, I btw think it is completely justified.
  • sid440 - September 12, 2010 4:40 a.m.

    this isint chiefs story dont complain that hes not in it!
  • KaiokenKid - September 12, 2010 4:37 a.m.

    I laugh my ass off to think that Killzoen 2 got a 9, and every PS3 fanboy came out of the woodwork to crusify the reviewer, while this game gets a 8 and 360 fans are all like "yeah, ok."
  • FatherTime - September 12, 2010 4:36 a.m.

    I love this site. However, this review was horrible. Not that your not right about the score because I havent played it yet. But your logic was just horrid. You clearly stated that Halo 3 had 10/10 multiplayer and then ran off 10-15 major improvements in Reach and at the end gave Reach a 9/10 for multi-player. Also Halo 3's campaign was garbage and tried to do too much at one time. Hell the fact that they havent recycled the (4 missions of covenant, flood arrives, cluster fuck, and cliff hanger ending) halo formula is an improvement. It just feels like you did this in an attempt to be different and be "that site that gave Reach an 8". Sad stuff guys sad stuff.
  • legory - September 12, 2010 4:35 a.m.

    Can't wait for my Legendary edition. Reading this review got me pumped, a little disappointed that the campaign didn't get an 8/10 at least. Although, it's understandable that Bungie may have lost their epic-story touch, considering last year's ODST. Which I still loved, and I adored the beautiful scenery. I hope Reach delivers the same scenery, with better story and innovation. Oh, and forge had me shitting my pants.
  • hobojesse - September 12, 2010 4:33 a.m.

    @Servo. They were reviewed by different people? And they aren't balanced on a fucking "cosmic scale". Give a 9 to one doesn't mean the 8 this got is worth any less. I am still buying the game. I'm not gonna get a boner over the single player, but I never would have anyway. Besides, its C-Bears opinion, don't hate him for that.
  • Servo - September 12, 2010 4:32 a.m.

    1UP A+ GamePro 5 out 5 Stars Joystiq 5 out 5 Stars IGN UK 10 Destructoid 10 IGN Review 9.5 GameInformer 9.5 Gametrailers 9.3 Eurogamer 9 GiantBomb 4 out 5 Stars

Showing 281-300 of 326 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 14 2010 - Xbox 360 (US)
Sep 14 2010 - Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: Bungie
Franchise: Halo
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.