Google+

Heavy Rain review

Solid
Back to Article

125 comments

  • starhaw - February 11, 2010 4:15 a.m.

    WHY IN THE WORLD DO YOU GUYS AT GR CONTINUE TO FEEL THE NEED TO COMPARE EVERY AND I MEAN EVERY GAME TO MASS EFFECT 2??????....for gods sake they are completely different and on DIFFERENT SYSTEMS....why NOT COMPARE SOMETHING THAT IS ON ONE SYSTEM TO THE SAME SYSTEM HUH??? WHY NOT COMPARE MASS EFFECT 2 TO HALO ODST OR HALO REACH WHEN IT COMES OUT AND STOP COMPARING A 360 GAME to a PS3 GAME that's like comparing a ONE REPUBLICAN PRESIDENT TO A DEMOCRATIC ONE...if your gonna compare compare to the same system...........I love the way you guys write articles and how your website is set up but i swear you can be so biased sometimes it makes me want to forget about your site completely YOU ALWAYS and I mean ALWAYS have to find something to compare to the 360....its like your doing it just to get the friggin 360 name in the article when there is no APPARENT NEED TO...why don't you leave PS3 GAMES TO COMPARE TO PS3 GAMES and 360 GAMES TO COMPARE TO 360 games...WHAT ARE YOU GUYS GOING TO DO COMPARE GOD OF WAR III TO MASS EFFECT????........I'm sure I'll see it referenced in your review for it somewhere in the GOW III review..........please GR all I'm asking is just stop being so BIASED sometimes and stop throwing in games or system's names in an article that has nothing to do with it just for the sake of doing it....its almost as if your shoving your nose up MICROSOFT'S BUTT HOLES........(I'm sorry if that's rude but here in America I am guaranteed my right to Free speech and thats exactly how I feel)
  • CatrParrot - February 11, 2010 3:43 a.m.

    I dunno, I'm kind of on the fence about this one. I'll probably rent it first. And I see people are creating accounts just so they can bitch in the comments.
  • Amnesiac - February 11, 2010 3:27 a.m.

    Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the very definition of a love-it-or-hate-it game. I liked the demo much more than I thought I would, but this game, more than any other, can't really be judged on a demo. PS. Some of the comments here make me want to shoot myself in a vital area. And I'm not just talking about Xboxrulez.
  • snothammer - February 11, 2010 3:08 a.m.

    I'm glad you mentioned the story plot holes. I was intrigued by this game, but that pretty much kills it for me. I think I'll wait for someone to try this concept again, someone who can actually write. Or I'll rent it, lol.
  • Red - February 11, 2010 2:34 a.m.

    Bummer.I'm not against nudity and sex in video games, but those shower scenes (the second one in particular) have no place in the game other than to see some skin. I'm still going to buy it, but I think after this I'm done playing games for a while. Somebody call me when game makers decide to make games that actually deliver on the promises they make.
  • mentalityljs - February 11, 2010 2:33 a.m.

    YaY, xboxrulez is back! I see that he's back to his usual shit talking and already managed to get one of his comments deleted! lol. What a d-bag!
  • mentalityljs - February 11, 2010 2:18 a.m.

    I gotta agree with Yeager1122. From past previews to this review, it sounds like the game was stripped of all it's potential glory just prior to it's release. So sad, it being poorly (or badly lol) written, along with all the plot gaps and cliche crap. Hopefully the immersiveness will distract from all the broken pieces.
  • Rodnroll - February 11, 2010 1:40 a.m.

    oh, by the way, that guy Xboxrulz or whatever....is and imbecile.
  • anthonyjh63 - February 11, 2010 1:34 a.m.

    Any critic that makes the comparison between this game and film is an absolute moron and is doing a disservice to videogames. I mean, do you fucking consider the implications of what you're saying or do you just let it all spill out of your head? As for the game itself, I don't have an opinion. I'm quite excited for it, but going by what I experienced in the demo I'm thinking it will have a problem with bad dialogue and voice acting. We'll see, I suppose.
  • Rodnroll - February 11, 2010 1:33 a.m.

    The gameplay seems to be exactly like Fahrenheit. All that hype, and just a 7. Well, that's typical of overhyped titles. I will give it a try anyway.
  • mEgAzD - February 11, 2010 1:33 a.m.

    For the people complaining about the score, just buy the game. I don't think a 7 really matters if you already know you wanna buy the game.
  • Xeacons - February 11, 2010 1:29 a.m.

    Gotta love Quantic Dream! No, scriptwriting was never one of their strong suits, but even back with Omikron, they really pioneered some of our favorite genres. I loved Indigo Prophecy, despite it's short-comings, so this one looks one worth picking up. Hell, worth picking up a PS3 for, as long as it's exclusive.
  • Jose22 - February 11, 2010 1:20 a.m.

    how could you make a review if the game isn't out yet????
  • Cyberninja - February 11, 2010 1:14 a.m.

    i will try the demo on thursday for myself and i think that since this game is diffrent than most i think aleast 4 diffrent people should have reviewed it and average out the score
  • TobiasBrucknersSon - February 11, 2010 1:01 a.m.

    It's got really good reviews. I have mine preordered and can't wait. I hope it will sell really well. It's nice to see a company take a risk on something new as opposed to making the same old thing. Hopefully people will give it a chance so we can see more different content.
  • LMR13 - February 11, 2010 12:52 a.m.

    wow... what a biased review. rate it for what it is, not what u want it to be. this review fails...
  • SausageLozenge - February 11, 2010 12:44 a.m.

    Snore, I'll wait till its 20 bucks.
  • CH3BURASHKA - February 11, 2010 12:29 a.m.

    To fully comprehend the reasoning for the 7/10, I read the entire review, and I still think it's a load of bull. As a frequenter of this site, I would appreciate a more objective review (case-in-point: "You'll hate it if you're an action junkie"? Why the hell doesn't the review for Halo or Gears or Killzone say "You'll hate it if you're a platformer or puzzle-solving junkie"?) Many reviews are very satisfied with the game, which either suggests the internetz are wrong, or David Houghton was the inappropriate person to entrust with the review. I haven't played it, so I have only reviews and screens and videos to go off of. If I experience the same... apathecity whilst playing the game, I will write an apology. However, it seems that there's enough 'proof' that Mr. Houghton's opinion is, to put it simply, wrong. ...and yes, I know 7 is a 'good' game. I, however, am quite sure it's a great or excellent game.
  • Pocotron - February 11, 2010 12:24 a.m.

    @tsuanthony Trust me, you aren't being the raving fanboy on this website... I'm looking at YOU XBOXRULEZ! FUCKIN' TROLL!
  • Megajamz - February 11, 2010 12:09 a.m.

    xboxrulez you are the worst troll to ever attempt to annoy a comment section. interested in heavy rain ill pick it up day 1

Showing 81-100 of 125 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 23 2010 - PS3 (US)
Feb 26 2010 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Adventure
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Quantic Dream
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Drugs
PEGI Rating:
16+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.