Google+

Killzone 2 review

Excellent
Back to Article

135 comments

  • Cwf2008 - February 3, 2009 3:55 a.m.

    Well after you gave Gaylo 3 and Grand Theft Crapness (ya that pun sucked...as much as the games) a 10, i dunno if i can trust this score...really if its so great why only a 9?
  • TrIp13G - February 3, 2009 3:33 a.m.

    Oh, Mikel. You almost make me want to drop a few C-notes for a PS3...
  • xFnKxTaLeNtx - February 3, 2009 3:25 a.m.

    The only thing this game had against Halo was the campaign, but after that there isnt much. So unless you want to sell bodily fluids for a ps3 and 15ish hours of game play then go ahead, but ill stick with my 360 for now.
  • mikejr13 - February 3, 2009 2:58 a.m.

    this seems like an extremely fair review. i was hoping it would be a ten just because, having both systems (360 and PS3) i tend to favor my 360, however i'm always finding myself rooting for sony to come out with great exclusive games. that said, a nine out of ten is still fantastic and i'm definitively purchasing this game as soon as possible. good job.
  • toobs - February 3, 2009 2:22 a.m.

    I dont like killzone 2 because the graphics are bad and the sound is bad to. But anyway its a good review.
  • Jaces - February 3, 2009 1:59 a.m.

    Don't agree to much with the negative points, but that's all based on opinions. Everything else is pretty good, nice article.
  • key0blade - February 3, 2009 1:14 a.m.

    Very biased, they gave MGS4 a 9/10 also, which is the best game I have ever played, seriously
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - February 3, 2009 12:17 a.m.

    @MilitaryRaiden: We played multiplayer in a couple of special online sessions set up for reviewers by SCEA. Not entirely sure who our opponents were, but there were a lot of them. And the whole 3PS/FPS thing is just a matter of in-game perspective and aiming. Gears and Killzone 2 are similar games, both from a thematic and gameplay standpoint, and it's fair to compare them. I played through Gears 2 in co-op mode, enjoyed it a little more than I enjoyed KZ2, and didn't run into any problems apart from occasional dropped connections. Don't read too much into it; it's just an opinion.
  • Vallanthaz - February 2, 2009 11:59 p.m.

    "I'm fairly certain that even an 8 from GR for Killzone 2 would've equaled a 10 in my book as GR has been putting down Killzone 2 for awhile, so this is great!!!" Going to agree with this, too. Considering the constant comparisons to Halo 3 and Gears 2, you have to wonder if this wouldn't have scored a 10, were it on a Microsoft console. Anyway. PS3 is a fantastic console, millions of people own one and enjoy it. And it's not going anywhere no matter what people say or who bashes it. All that matters is how you personally feel.
  • MilitaryRaiden - February 2, 2009 11:43 p.m.

    When - and how - did you GRguys ever play on the multiplayer? And more important: with whom?? Against a couple of your office buddies? Having a review about a month before the actual release is a surefire way to making the same mistake you made when reviewing CoD4 which you had to rectify as soon as you've actually played its multiplayer... By th time the aforementioned CoD4 reared its lovely head Rainbow Six Vegas had already been out WITH co-op and all no one seemed to care that CoD4 was lacking because it didn;t feature a co-op. CoD5 on the other hand did - so? Who bothered going back for seconds...? I'm suprised you didn't bitch about NOT having a pet wolf - BECAUSE ZELDA AND OKAMI DID!!! I've got both 360 and ps3 mind you and am enjoying both immensely - so it's a ps3 fanboy thing (too old for that anyway...) And I agree with many people on the Gears 2 comparison - its multiplayer was so broken and for god's sake: one is an Fps and the other a third person shooter. Why not go all hog and compare it with Burnout:Paradise, Skate 2 and Madworld (when it gets out which didn't stop you from reviewing this game anyway, "multiplayer mode" and all).
  • yunoeklipz - February 2, 2009 10:46 p.m.

    i dont understand how something can be better than world at war, yet worse than gears. thats defying nature
  • Xenath - February 2, 2009 10:39 p.m.

    Why do you say they're biased against Sony? They gave a major MS game a 9/10 as well(fable 2) It just seems like you are wanting to jump on anyone who doesn't give it a ten. You say they're blowing Microsoft but you are pretty much doing the same for sony. Fanboyism = stuipid
  • flare149 - February 2, 2009 10:39 p.m.

    I'm fairly certain that even an 8 from GR for Killzone 2 would've equaled a 10 in my book as GR has been putting down Killzone 2 for awhile, so this is great!!! : D
  • RandyChimp - February 2, 2009 10:26 p.m.

    only gamesradar could knock off points because multiplayer matches drag on. Sigh! Other than that, and the fact that this site is obviously blowing Microsoft on a regular basis, good review.
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - February 2, 2009 10:09 p.m.

    @klempfner: If you're playing through all five game types (which by default last about five minutes each) in a single match, it adds up to a long time spent retreading the same ground in a single level. That's adjustable, of course (so long as you're hosting the game), and it's still fun, but after a while my short attention span desperately wanted a change of scenery. Especially in skirmish mode. Bots are poor company.
  • newgames128 - February 2, 2009 10:06 p.m.

    With all the complaints I've heard on various boards about Gears of War 2's multiplayer problems, it's pretty surprising to read Gamesradar saying it's better. Considering I haven't really heard anywhere near as many complaints about Killzone 2's mp, even from the beta. Also, Gears 2's level design isn't as varied as they'd like us to believe. Almost half of it takes place in a dark and dingy cave. But everyone has their own opinions right.
  • jar-head - February 2, 2009 9:56 p.m.

    agreed: ▲ ▲ ▲
  • AmazingKG3 - February 2, 2009 9:51 p.m.

    ya Mikel, come podcast 37, I would bet money that youll tell us how people are gonna want to cut you for that score and comments. I think that is an extremely fair score, and a solid review (Halo comment agreed), cant wait to get my hands on that demo in 3 days.
  • RonnyLive19881 - February 2, 2009 9:36 p.m.

    Good review! I really didn't see this game topping Gears 2 anyway. As long as it is a good FPS I'll be happy. I do hate how PS3 bots seem to act like this game is Obama's second coming. I think they need to get over both of them...
  • mrmitts123 - February 2, 2009 9:36 p.m.

    I commend you guys for at least staying true to your word of not "hating" Killzone 2. But Gears 2's MP is broken so maybe you should scratch that.

Showing 41-60 of 135 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Guerrilla Games
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.