Google+

Metroid Prime Trilogy review

Excellent
Back to Article

57 comments

  • c03n3nj0 - August 18, 2009 6:48 p.m.

    I will get this!
  • allaboutrockband - August 18, 2009 12:30 a.m.

    If I had a Wii I would get this. Oh well. It looks like it could be around for a while. And heads up to Carnage976 that's funny ha ha.
  • Amnesiac - August 17, 2009 3:56 p.m.

    It's times like these I almost wish I had a Wii. Almost.
  • Tymiegie - August 17, 2009 2:06 a.m.

    When reading this I did think it sounded like it is similar to Bioshock(which I love), but I also noticed that it sounded a lot like the Half-Life series, too. And since I absolutely love Half-Life and especially Half-Life 2 you may have just convinced me to buy this game, Brett. The wierd thing was that the way you built up the controls made me expect more. While I don't doubt the controls work well and are a vast improvement over what they used to be, that is because the first game controls were simply just bad game design for something like a first person shooter(and I would say for any game). Anyway, good review.
  • Cyberninja - August 16, 2009 11:06 p.m.

    i am going to buy this soon
  • mastersword369 - August 16, 2009 4:54 p.m.

    Metriod. I Love it and I hate it. They're all great games, but they make you feel like a rat in a maze! Nintendo just made these games have too many unspecific objectives, so sometimes, you have no idea what to do! This is espesially a problem in Super Metriod, were there are NO definite objectives, you're just wandering until you find a hidden switch, breakable wall, etc. Putting a Metriod game into my console gives me sense of dread, wondering what i'm going to get hung up on next!(Sigh) Although I've made my complaint, don't get me wrong. I am a big Nintendo fan, and I loved MP3. This looks good, but i'm waiting 'til Other M.
  • JackieChantistaDoesHisOwnCunts - August 16, 2009 1:02 a.m.

    God, Metroid Prime: Hunters got the control scheme so, so right. I really wish they'd make a Metroid game for the DS with a decent single-player mode, though.
  • Obama69DoctorFunkenstein - August 15, 2009 10:51 p.m.

    i always meant to play the prime games and if these remakes are ok by Brett i'm sure ill have a good time with it. definitely buying this sweet deal
  • sklorbit - August 15, 2009 10:49 p.m.

    too bad i played all of them already
  • thephntm - August 15, 2009 7:33 p.m.

    never played a 3d metroid, just Zero Mission and the original. thisll be fun.
  • ChrisAntistaSmellsLikePizza - August 15, 2009 8:40 a.m.

    I both love and hate this review. I love it because I agree with all your points, I hate it because it got me intrested in GC stuff again. Had a Wii, sold it, don't regret it; but I still like GC stuff, which I haven't had for a long time. This prompted me to do some research. For roughly $25 more than what most people are going to paying for Modern Warfare 2 Prestige edition ($150). You can get . . . Nintendo Gamecube Controller Memory Card The Legend of Zelda Collector's Editing (wihich comes with The Legend of Zelda, Zelda 2, Legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time, and The Legend of Zelda Majora’s Mask) Metroid Prime Metroid Prime 2 Resident Evil 4 Animal Crossing Star Fox: Assault Killer 7 Viewtiful Joe Donkey Jungle Beat w/ bongos F-zero GX and Time Splitters 2. Again, you can get all this for roughly $175, so the fact that you can get MP 1,2,and 3 for only $50 is a GREAT DEAL for da Wii peoplz. Great Review, and I can't wait to get this for a friend so I can play it.
  • AyJay - August 15, 2009 1:26 a.m.

    this or Punchout!!... Ahh! I can't decide
  • Denrok - August 15, 2009 1:19 a.m.

    Wow. I've never played any of the Prime games and the Wii is the only 7th generation console that I own. I have to get this or I'm an idiot.
  • linkganon - August 14, 2009 11:28 p.m.

    i think i've seen the second or first mp games for sale at a gamespot or eb games (whichever you prefer to call it, their both the same thing, owned by the same company) and i think it was still at $20 to $60, i also saw it at a superstore for, look above. i bet my game store will jack up the price just like the psp packages for $200 compared to $150 and the legend of zelda collector's eddition that came with the gamecube on their shelf for $60 dollars when it is free with the system.
  • dante1924 - August 14, 2009 10:04 p.m.

    This will keep my wii busy for a LONG time. I played Prime 2, but I didn't get very far. Question, though. Where did the stupid Phazon come from? And I heard there's a collectors edition, but that's the ONLY cover I see for the game. So is the collectors edition the only edition?
  • Carnage976 - August 14, 2009 9:45 p.m.

    DID I GET FIRST? UH DID I GET FIRST? OH GOD I HOPE I GET FIRST FIRST!!! IF I DON'T I THINK ILL KILL MYSELF. If you guy's didn't notice I'm joking because it hilarious on how you make a big deal about getting first. Nice review.
  • Unoriginal - August 14, 2009 9:36 p.m.

    Didn't have a GC so this is Perfect. I love MP3. Great way to gear up for Other M. Fantastic review. Exspecially the control comparison at the end.

Showing 41-57 of 57 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Aug 24 2009 - Wii (US)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Retro Studios
Franchise: Metroid
ESRB Rating:
Teen
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.