Google+

Monster Hunter Tri review

Excellent
Back to Article

23 comments

  • Kuraik767 - September 2, 2010 5:22 p.m.

    Hope then next one comes out on wii as well as PS3.
  • badwitz904 - May 10, 2010 11:43 p.m.

    Monster Hunter is the best game I have on my Wii, and if you dont think it looks cool you are retarded and you dont realize how awesome this game is. In other news... This game does not require friend codes and the online is awesome! Sadly the gamecube controller is not supported by the game ;( *tear*... anyway this game is worth checking out. If you plan on not buying the classic controler you are screwed. the Wiimote controlls SUCK, but THIS GAME RULES!
  • JohnnyMaverik - May 1, 2010 6:17 p.m.

    Monster Hunter is just Japanese masturbation material fueled by their obsession with wiping out endagered species. You all make me sick, and I hope you get raped by a whale one day.
  • TheVoid - April 22, 2010 6:07 p.m.

    God do I love the writing talent at GamesRadar, and Mr. Castle's lyrical waxing certainly makes for an entertaining read, but this is a perfect example of why I go to GamesRadar for their features but elsewhere for reviews. For starters, why this game didn't warrant a "super review" is beyond me (especially after seeing 3D Dot Game Heroes recieve that honor). Trust me - I'm not a bellyaching fanboy of the Monster Hunter series. In fact, I've never played a single installment, but damn if they haven't always looked very interesting to me. Not that that alone justifies a "super review", but the way I see it, MH3 appears to be one of the strongest arguements for Wii as a serious gaming platform, and aren't the masses constantly crying about Wii's lack of hardcore titles? Capcom probably could have thrown this title at the XB360 and/or PS3 to leverage the already existing "hardcore" base, which would likely have resulted in it making some serious coin. But Capcom, awesome as they always are, decided to give the ailing Wii a chance to live up to its potential from multiple perspectives: impressive graphics, casuals-need-not-apply challenge, and online playability. Three areas that most gamers feel the Wii routinely falls short in. Not to mention Capcom doing so hot on the heels of the Wii-exclusive Capcom vs Tatsunoko, which also makes a serious arguement in favor of the Wii as a viable outlet for hardcore games. So here we have Capcom, going out on a limb in an effort to put the Wii back in good standing among gamers, a commendable action especially in the wake of failed past attempts like MadWorld, Metroid Prime Trilogy, Dead Space Extraction and House of the Dead Overkill - all games that deserved some serious gaming love yet found almost none, despite critical acclaim. Enter Monster Hunter 3, an A-list game with some very high stakes including Wii as a viable hardcore gaming platform (with a strong online focus, no less), Monster Hunter as a west-friendly franchise, and Capcom as a developer that routinely takes risks on behalf of gamers over their own bottom line. If a title covering that much ground doesn't warrant a "super review", I don't know what. Not that it may have mattered anyway. As stated earlier, Matthew Castle's review was entertaining and worth the read, but left me with more questions than answers. It sounded like MH3 would be up my alley, but with little discussion regarding the online mechanics (Do they work? Are friend codes required?) and controls (How bad with the Wiimote? Is there Gamecube control support?), I realized my quest for an entertaining AND informative review would end elsewhere. So once again I feel forced to leave the festive pastures of GamesRadar for the more satisfying reviews of Gamespot and IGN. It's a pity that for all of the writing talent at GamesRadar, reviews continue to be the site's biggest weakness. Perhaps if less time were spent crying about Okami, more time could be spent giving the potential Okamis of tomorrow the attention they deserve today. But for now I'll just expect to read a GamesRadar feature in 3 months about why Monster Hunter 3 failed so fabulously. Unfortunately it will probably dodge any mention of the game's less-than-complete review on this very site.
  • Twizinator - April 21, 2010 3:22 a.m.

    i cant wait to play this game. i just got the bundle in the mail today! @ JohnnyMaverik you are entitled to your opinion, but take it somewhere else. everyone else here, including GR, apparently, loves the series @ powerpc127 haha good one. made me lol!
  • powerpc127 - April 20, 2010 3:25 p.m.

    "Nothing puts the fear of God into you like having ten tons of meat sprinting in your direction." That's what she said. Couldn't help it. Anywho, I think I'm going to buy this right now. Great article, sounds like a great game, can't wait to get into it. recaptcha: dump city. Yup, that's where I live.
  • Tomkins - April 18, 2010 12:54 a.m.

    @JonnyMaverik, Why are you getting naked when you're going to get lynched, that doesn't make sense to me? Also what do you think it's actual flaws are?
  • JohnnyMaverik - April 17, 2010 3:06 a.m.

    Monster Hunter is fking crap... lynch me *gets naked* No really I'm serious, it's a nice idea and a terrible, terrible game, and from I've seen of this so far, it's no change what so ever.
  • Evilsafetyboy - April 16, 2010 11:41 p.m.

    Very well-written review. Kudos! Pre-ordered and waiting...
  • Kenzo - April 16, 2010 3:33 p.m.

    favorite quotes of the article... "Nothing puts the fear of God into you like having ten tons of meat sprinting in your direction." "From mountainous heights to baked desert soil, Monster Hunter could be subtitled Ten Places to See Before You Get Eaten." brilliant I already have this preordered and can't wait for the release, It's gonna be all about the switchaxe.
  • Imthedoctor - April 16, 2010 12:13 a.m.

    NEED TO PLAY
  • donnydarko420 - April 15, 2010 11:54 p.m.

    @MW3M - There aren't Friend Codes in the game. Read up a bit on the game. The online modes are not like anything else on the Wii. They are closer to the HD console's online experiences, actually.
  • MW3M - April 15, 2010 11:39 p.m.

    I have a Wii, but there's no way I'm faffing about with Friend Codes. Please get ported!
  • n00b - April 15, 2010 11:33 p.m.

    ahh man why must i run out of cash well guess I'll save up and get tatsunoko vs capcom, no more hero's 1 and 2, red steel 2, monster hunter 3, metroid other m and mario galaxy 2 all in one go. there will be a lot of wii gaming for summer for me
  • gojiguyar - April 15, 2010 11:06 p.m.

    I played the demo last night. Finally, something with enough power to pull me away from Tatsunoko vs Capcom!
  • CatrParrot - April 15, 2010 10:34 p.m.

    Oh fantastic... It's not like I STILL have to pick up Final Fantasy 13 and No More Heroes 2.
  • Metroidhunter32 - April 15, 2010 10:34 p.m.

    Allright, my wii goes online in 5 days, no excuses. Allready have a clasic controler, so I don't need that. God, I can't wait for this to come out.
  • PopPopInTheAttic - April 15, 2010 4:53 p.m.

    Fantastic write-up, Castle, a great read. Looking forward to picking this up soon!
  • Clovin64 - April 15, 2010 11:01 a.m.

    I just pray a Monster Hunter game this good eventually comes to PS3! I've played the Monster Hunter games on PS2 and PSP, but I actually suck at them. However, that Free-roaming function sounds bloody brilliant- it always irritated me how on the other games you can only explore a certain area only when on a mission (Boo!) Still, Monster Hunter: PLEASE COME TO PS3!

Showing 1-20 of 23 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Action
Published by: Capcom
Developed by: Capcom
ESRB Rating:
Teen
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.