Google+

Pokemon Black and White review

Excellent
Back to Article

75 comments

  • dontshootthereviewer - March 4, 2011 10:45 p.m.

    ARRGHHH I have to wait until the 14th or 17th to play this!!!! *sad face* stupid free shipping on amazon
  • Larinah - March 4, 2011 10:26 p.m.

    The only things about this game that upset me were a lack of a battle frontier and one of the greatest tragedies ever to befall a wonderful series... NO GAME CORNER! I MEAN WTF! Where will our children go to learn to be heartless gambling addicts? Oh, and I wish they would have put evos of certain pokemon that need them. Absol for instance. Other than that, this game is nothing short of brilliance. Played through the game twice now with a japanese version and I'll more than likely be picking up a US version as well.
  • D0CCON - March 4, 2011 10:17 p.m.

    Black and White had me at random wifi battles. I've been wanting those before Diamond and Pearl ever came out. Ranked and unranked battles sound awesome, too. Now I can test my party in an unranked battle to see if they are good enough for the real deal. I preordered this a few weeks ago. I can't believe its finally a weekend away (and I can't believe that I'm so excited for a pokemon game. It feels like I'm 6 again and playing Pokemon Yellow, my first videogame ever, for the first time).
  • Yingsin - March 4, 2011 10:08 p.m.

    I have to say, having Carolyn do the review was kinda biased. But, she would've been the only one to point out some of the things she did point out.
  • WTeen8 - March 4, 2011 9:42 p.m.

    "You'll Hate Not having time for other games" Best. Negative. Point. Ever. I really want the Ice Cream Pokemon, and this is the first set that I'm sure which to get. Most of the time I decide based on the Legendary (Lugia > Ho-oh, Palkia (I like Water types better) > Dialga Groudon > Kyogre) But I'm not sure If I want Black City, or White Forest? What do you guys think?
  • Pry0citer - March 4, 2011 9:22 p.m.

    I've had an erection for this game for about 3 months... and it looks like for good reason!! @Carolyn: If you are interested, my Pokemon Post will be out, also with a review, and MAYBE with some videos for a Let's Play probably by the 11th or 12th.
  • garnsr - March 4, 2011 8:59 p.m.

    There are times when a sequel is just the best in a series, even if it isn't that much different than the games that came before. Sometimes that's just what you want, sometimes it makes you want something completely different. This sounds like that sort of thing, it may just depend on a lot of personal variables whether you'll like it or not.
  • waffman11 - March 4, 2011 8:56 p.m.

    MUST FIND 40 DOLLARS. NOW. I HAVE TO START RUNNING FOR MY LOCAL GAMESTOP, 15 MILES AWAY.
  • thefreakysurgeon - March 4, 2011 8:53 p.m.

    hellz yeah im getting this. but not till i get the 3DS.
  • MrDuracraft - March 4, 2011 8:39 p.m.

    @TBRays 1. A she wrote this 2. I'm pretty sure Chevaparadumprong was joking :P OT: Although I still kind of regret preordering Black instead of White, I can't wait to get it. This is probably the first time since Gold/Silver I have friends who actually play Pokemon
  • TBRays - March 4, 2011 8:30 p.m.

    They arent saying that bulletstorm is better than this, Chevaparadumprong. The only reason its a nine is because it follows the same formula we've had 20 times before. Idk why bulletstorm got a 10 anyways, more like a 7 or 8. btw bulletstorm is on all ps3 too so how does that make him a 360 fanboy. But yeah i agree this is 100 x better than bulletstorm
  • NightCrawler_358 - March 4, 2011 8:28 p.m.

    Nice review. I wasn't a big fan of pokemon pearl, soul silver was good though. I really like leafgreen as well, but honestly, no pokemon game can stand up to my favorite of all time... Ruby. I've played through it several times, and every time i do, the count gets stuck on 99:59.
  • Crabhand - March 4, 2011 8:05 p.m.

    I am excite. If only we could get this today like Europe.
  • Nap1400 - March 4, 2011 7:54 p.m.

    That settles it. I'm getting Pokemon Black. And yes, this game is better than Halo: Reach. Stupid fanboys...
  • samgardner94 - March 4, 2011 7:45 p.m.

    Woooooooooooooooooooo I LOVE THIS GAME My game time is already about 10 hours, i'm so happy it's already out in Europe, best game of the series so far, it is amazing
  • Xtapolapopotamus - March 4, 2011 7:29 p.m.

    Terrific review! Sunday can't come soon enough! It is a shame that the game refuses to move beyond the eight gym leader formula... But oh well. Can't win em all. You raised some great points and explained a lot about what's new in the game. Also: obligatory "This game is better than Halo: Reach!" comment.
  • Tobio - March 4, 2011 7:14 p.m.

    @Squander And WHY exactly would you want to play US on your Pal DS? It's been out here since today... And there seems to be something interesting... The Australian version is playable on a Japanese DSi. Although I don't know if this means only the Japanese is Region-locked..
  • Chevapravatdumrong - March 4, 2011 7:09 p.m.

    WHAT! Only a nine your saying Bulletstorm is better than this! I'm never reading your crummy site again! You 360 fangal.
  • Squander - March 4, 2011 6:54 p.m.

    I have an urgent question! --> Is the US-Version region-locked as well?? I would like to buy it on my Pal-DSi.
  • CBreeze5g - March 4, 2011 6:53 p.m.

    While I don't have a problem with the review score I have to disagree on the gym part. To me it would be a main series Pokemon game if you weren't facing gym leaders, in fact that's my favorite part of the game. Especially how the gym leaders are given a lot more backstory this time. Anyways that's just my opinion but great review though.

Showing 41-60 of 75 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 06 2011 - DS (US)
Mar 04 2011 - DS (UK)
Available Platforms: DS
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Game Freak
Franchise: Pokemon
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Comic Mischief, Mild Cartoon Violence
PEGI Rating:
3+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.