Google+

Resident Evil 5 review

Excellent
Back to Article

90 comments

  • jackrabbitslims - March 11, 2009 11:06 a.m.

    "I'm so mad that you actually complained about having to stop to shoot. Just... no." Well, if they tossed everything else that RE was built on and made it an action game why not make it a GREAT action game? Being able to move and shoot just makes sense, seeing as this is no longer a horror series (unless the next game proves me wrong) they should have made run and gun an option at least.
  • Jorw - March 11, 2009 3:27 a.m.

    That score doesn't represent the review at all. If a hyped game doesn't live up to its expectations, you guys shouldn't be afraid to give it the score it deserves.
  • Drama - March 11, 2009 2:54 a.m.

    I'm only buying it because I really want the Chris Redfield Figurine and Messenger Bag in the Special Collector's Edition. I highly doubt I'll play past a few levels until they incorporate a patch that allows me to at least waddle and shoot at the same time.
  • deathrebellion - March 10, 2009 8:20 p.m.

    gotta get gotta get but still fear part is gone :(
  • RustEd01 - March 10, 2009 7:29 p.m.

    Excellent review radar! Its one of the prime reasons why I visit this site other than the top 7 lists. BUT I wanted to point out the fact that RE5 Mercenaries mode is playable ONLINE/SPLIT SCREEN. Capcom took the issue and fixed it. Here's confirmation: http://xbox.joystiq.com/2009/03/09/resident-evil-5s-mercenaries-mode-goes-online/ "As happy as we were to learn that "Mercenaries" mode was returning for Resident Evil 5, we were a little put out to learn that you could only play with a friend if he was sharing the couch with you. Luckily our disappointment was short-lived, as IGN reports the mode has been patched on 360 to add online play, before the public has even gotten its mitts on it. Update: A patch for the PS3 version has been released."
  • Geminiman82 - March 10, 2009 2:20 p.m.

    Great review guys! It's nice to see that my likes and dislikes were not unfounded after playing the demo. A+ Gentlemen!
  • Spybreak8 - March 10, 2009 7:32 a.m.

    I've never gotten into the RE games but I was hoping that this one would. You can really tell the Gears inspiration to the development of this game. That's the first thing I thought of when I saw this game demoed on Xplay a while ago. I can't do co-op due to decent but not great internet (satellite) and I just hated the controls. Seems like this game doesn't know what it wants to be, a cross dresser? haha Sounds good for co-op and run and gu... ahh no that doesn't work. Great review guys and I think more review sites/mags should use the games comparison feature you use as well.
  • CrimsonGear80 - March 10, 2009 6:49 a.m.

    I'm pretty sure they added the online co-op for the merc mode in a patch that will be available on day one.
  • Z-man427 - March 10, 2009 6:05 a.m.

    @ RonnyLive - the demo came out just a wee bit over a month ago
  • shadowleon - March 10, 2009 3:31 a.m.

    i herd this is supposed to a good game re4 was great so I'm planing on getting this one to
  • samownzsnake - March 10, 2009 2:58 a.m.

    oh, and, um, 'Dawgsfan117'? do me a favor and dont listen to the voices in your head telling you that a 360+PS3 makes you rich.
  • samownzsnake - March 10, 2009 2:55 a.m.

    nice avatar, noobmasteroftehworld. Dwights cool.
  • mgake182 - March 10, 2009 2:20 a.m.

    the death sequences werent even that cool. re4 had like 1000 different brutal deaths so im not sure why they would ever downgrade the gore. w/e re4 is easily my favorite game so i hope this is at least almost that good if not slightly better.
  • ethanw12 - March 10, 2009 2:03 a.m.

    I didn't read all of the comments so somebody might have already brought this up, but RE5 isn't the only one with the strange coop. Call of Duty World at War uses the same weird way of splitting the screen. It sucks because it makes your screen space even smaller than usual.
  • Harmon20 - March 10, 2009 1:37 a.m.

    In all seriousness, I expected no less. I knew it'd be a lot like RE4, but I'm actually glad that they've kept it somewhat similar. At least your partner can ACTUALLY defend herself this time... I always wanted to say to Ashley, "hey, here's a shotgun. Have fun." but no.
  • DawgsFan117 - March 10, 2009 12:56 a.m.

    wow there are some hard core retards postin some stupid shit on here. First of all anyone that says gaylo 3 probably just doesnt own a 360 so stop being poor and buy both a PS3 and a 360 like I did. Also the reason that they complained about having to stop and shoot is because of how much the game has changed. You have to adapt controls in order to keep up with faster gameplay obviously. Hell i think ill take the opinion of someone who actually played the game and not some fuckin retarded fanboys. Good review gamesradar.
  • Hiimad - March 10, 2009 12:30 a.m.

    For me one of the main draws of RE4,Was that it was hard on normal,the first time i played through it. Since i have reserved the limited edition and payed it off,Im wondering,Will that remain?is it still going to be a hard game the first run through,and then the second and third will it just be easier as you get better weapons and the like? You could up the difficulty by youreself by just using the handguns though,right?
  • TheWebSwinger - March 9, 2009 11:53 p.m.

    Where did my excitement for this game go? Sigh.
  • Fenix654 - March 9, 2009 11 p.m.

    For all it's flaws, I still love the series. I'm not really complaining about an improved Resi 4. BTW: I didn't think resident evil 4 was all that scary, but it did do a good job of making you think that something was going to pop out at you all the time
  • GoldenMe - March 9, 2009 10:51 p.m.

    I'm just not a fan of the series, and aftr the games demo, it's a double negative for me. And no, that will not make a positive.

Showing 21-40 of 90 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 13 2009 - PS3, Xbox 360
Sep 15 2009 - PC (US)
Mar 13 2009 - PS3, Xbox 360
Sep 18 2009 - PC (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Capcom
Developed by: Capcom
Franchise: Resident Evil
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.