Google+

Resident Evil 5 review

Excellent
Back to Article

90 comments

  • GearsofRabies - March 9, 2009 10 p.m.

    Nazi Zombies on World at War has that same splitscreen style and it sucks.
  • Grenade - March 9, 2009 9:26 p.m.

    I'm so mad that you actually complained about having to stop to shoot. Just... no.
  • wrapdump - March 9, 2009 8:12 p.m.

    YAY! Nice review lads, gamesradar reviews have never steered me wrong yet, I'll be there launch night.
  • Johnbones - July 10, 2009 2:26 p.m.

    co-op is a double-edged sword here it adds to the fun but takes away from any fear that might have actually been there.
  • izal169 - July 3, 2009 10:16 a.m.

    I tried a new resident evil 1, 2 and 3. I want to try resident 5. good or not? seem more sinister and tense. I do want to try this game. http://travelbookinfo.com http://houseproperty.org
  • gamer49 - June 11, 2009 5:05 a.m.

    I finally played this game and it was really fun. But still annoying.
  • ChrisCom66 - May 26, 2009 1:28 a.m.

    i like Resident Evil 5 a lot, but 4 just had a little sumthin 5 doesn't have....?
  • dallasdad39 - May 10, 2009 3:42 a.m.

    I bought this game about a week after it came out and I have played it to death. I absolutely love this game. If you think this game is too easy then you havent played it on PROFESSIONAL mode yet. This mode is absolutely INSANE. The replayability is awesome, whether by yourself or with a friend, it ROCKS. I'm glad I payed the $60 bucks for this game, I have definitely gotten my money's worth out of it. I was a HUGE fan of the franchise when it started out on the PS1 and I am very happy that Capcom brought it to us XBOX players. All in all a very good game and if you have complaints, you aren't in it for the pure fun of the game or you aren't a serious Resident Evil FAN.
  • yayima - March 26, 2009 8:27 p.m.

    i think it is better then RE4. a lot funner and longer, more weapons ect. i would recomend it to anyone who likes RE trilogy
  • KingofHearts - March 24, 2009 6:12 a.m.

    ...i played the game before reading this review. While i was playing the game i was like..."Ya know, this isnt scarey at all"...then i read the review and they say its no longer a horror survival...blah...its still a good game...but for some reason i run outta ammo...and the dumb ai character never has any so i end up letting her expend all mine...makes the game annoying...blah...
  • Biohazard82493 - March 19, 2009 2:41 a.m.

    this game is awesome, i could never get the residen evil 4, because i only have a x box so its all new to me ans my brother and its great they had ad the co op. And like another one says if you dont like the stop and shoot then you wont like all the resident evil games because it has always been like that. Dawgsfan117 not everyone has a lot of money to be buying the ps3 and the 360 your just some rich guy who thinks its better than others
  • DawgsFan117 - March 15, 2009 6:36 a.m.

    Look I dnt care if you like the stand and shoot idea for watever reason but rly dnt say that maybe thats how Chris fires a gun. How the fuck does that make since. A highly trained military profesional was not taught to stand still and let things beat the hell out of him.
  • crimson_soulreaper305 - March 14, 2009 5 p.m.

    i played the game deeply disapointed i'll stick with RE4 until to me RE5 is pretty close to an EPIC FAIL
  • DEC4D3 - March 14, 2009 9:32 a.m.

    hm maybe the reason why you have to stop and shoot is because thats that way Chris shoots or it wants to be a unique game.
  • DawgsFan117 - March 14, 2009 5:32 a.m.

    This game while being fun is not even close to being as awsome as RE4. They took some of my favorite things about RE4 out including most of the horror element. For insance the fact that you could hold an extra rocket launcher just by rearanging the way your items where stored in the case during RE4 was always funny. The bigges thing I hate about this game is tha while all the bad guys are faster in this game the controls dont accomidate for that. It is not fun to have to stop and shoot 6 zombie dogs that sprint right up to u and jump on your face while your AI partner shoots you in the back. Yes the AI character is more of a hinderence than a helpful thing at most times. I usually just wish she would stop wasting my ammo and health and go get killed. I mean it is really fun to play with a friend but if I ever just want to sit back and play alone I have to deal with the stupid AI partner and its rly not worth it. I give this game a 7 at best.
  • thebigtarget1 - March 12, 2009 9:52 p.m.

    if you did not have to stop and shoot the game would not be as claustrophobic and scary. The stopping forces more strategic game play and doesn't allow you to just continuously run away from big baddies like the chainsaw guy. : P
  • ReaperOfDarkness - March 12, 2009 9:13 p.m.

    I find it od people are annoyed by complaints of the game that are thought through. This is how capitalism works people. Games cost money if the game isnt worth the money or doesn't do what people want it wont sell. Consumers have the right to dictate what goes into their products especially if they pay for them when they could spend the money elsewhere. We may not be the owners of the license or involved directly in its creation but game developers would be homeless without our money. It may be a fun game but it isnt resident evil if it doesnt actually follow the survival horror genre. If i wanted merely a fun game instead of a resident evil game their are many alternatives unless you have unlimited income.
  • notthatgoodthanks - March 12, 2009 9:55 a.m.

    I'm disapointed by the look of this game. I just wanted a return to what resident evil has been about for me while growing up and thats a survival horror. Lots of shocks, panic, fear, the old resident evil games did just that and with the level of detail they can put into games nowdays, well, i'm just disapointed capcom couldn't give us that. An action game is not what i want from resident evil, i want puzzles, i want some fear when the lights go out. Just, yeah, disapointed.
  • loves2spoon - March 12, 2009 12:44 a.m.

    Wow you guys are like moody old ladies. It sounds like you would complain about any little thing in the game. Like the fact you cant run and gun. Thats part of all RE games, survival horror or not. If they had changed this I bet that you guys would have started to whine because they changed it. Face it you guys aren't easily pleased. This is a great game with fun gameplay and awesome replay value. The one thing I would have liked to see is a longer story mode but because of the replay value I'm satisfied. Also why did you guys have to compare this with Gears and Dead Space? Because they are in the same genre category..... Not good nuff... Gears may have a better multiplayer but only because it was meant to have that function. RE4 wasn't multiplayer so why would RE5 be. It has co op yes but only because your partner isn't a whiny blonde bitch. That being said I think it is unfair to compare the two games that way. Yes I have rambled on for like 2000 words but only because certain things that you said in the review really pushed my buttons so I kinda had to vent lol. Other than the few picky comments it was a nicely done review and the score..... I cant argue ^_^
  • Thequestion 121 - March 11, 2009 10:37 p.m.

    Awesome. I need this game right now!!!

Showing 41-60 of 90 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 13 2009 - PS3, Xbox 360
Sep 15 2009 - PC (US)
Mar 13 2009 - PS3, Xbox 360
Sep 18 2009 - PC (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Capcom
Developed by: Capcom
Franchise: Resident Evil
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.