Google+

SSX review

Excellent
Back to Article

41 comments

  • KaylaImclever - March 22, 2013 4:02 a.m.

    You actually do have the option of just roaming around and going wherever you want. If you go to "Explore" on the main menu and choose a region, choose a course to run, at the bottom of the screen, it should tell you that if you press a certain button, you will be able to just roam around on the game. It says "free ride" or something like that.
  • spitefulmonkey - March 21, 2012 3:06 p.m.

    An embarassment of a game from EA. Worst part is, it almost took them ten years to "refine" this game. The most unexusable part is their use of the word "Explore". It's not part of this game in the traditional sense...ie, you cannot just wander about doing what you want (as in Amped). What they mean by "explore" is still limited to two different styles of boarding: racing or tricking. No explore mode of any kind here. Why did it take them so long to put this game out?
  • JSayonara - March 3, 2012 3:40 a.m.

    Hey Gamesradar. Did you enjoy trying to win a race in the dark, with nothing but a flashlight strapped to your head in a tunnel full of fucking crevices, where you can barely build up boost? Because I fucking didn't. I really recommend a rental on this one, frustrating ain't the word.
  • JSayonara - March 2, 2012 8:42 a.m.

    I don't know what the fuck this is...but it ain't SSX. Needlessly difficult, super serious and super boring. I'm well disappointed with this one.
  • Sketchydevil - March 1, 2012 1:47 p.m.

    I have the game and I have to say there is nothing quite like it. And the Challenge is there in the single player. The Geotags are cool to and you can see beyond your friend's list I am pretty sure. wish there was two player splitscreen or at least vs online at the same time..I know its sort of a rip off but I would pay for dlc for that as there is enough content in this game already. Anyways, definitely a fun game that you can pick up and play and get a big smile on your face
  • BadLadJon - March 1, 2012 1:15 p.m.

    so is better than Halo:Reach? xD
  • CitizenWolfie - March 1, 2012 5:37 a.m.

    This has been my most wanted game for ages now. I'm glad the demo only came out last week otherwise that wait would have been even more agonising! I wasn't keen on the new controls but I'm really glad the option for Classic controls are there.
  • JADENkOTOR - February 29, 2012 10:27 p.m.

    I haven't played it yet but it seems like another good comparison would be Trials HD. The steep learning curve and skill growth sound very similar from what you said? If this is the case Im going to buy it this weekend.
  • ChickenFillet5140 - February 29, 2012 12:40 p.m.

    Can not wait for this!!! I've been playing the demo non-stop for the past week and I need more. Great review, Dave.
  • Redeater - February 29, 2012 10:44 a.m.

    I'm probably in the minority here but while this game is almost as good as SSX3 or the godly Tricky I'm not a fan of the dark atmosphere. It seems like they took away a lot of the fun colorful bliss of the previous ones and replaced it with blander colors and skulls everywhere.
  • GR_DavidHoughton - March 1, 2012 1:23 a.m.

    There is no dark atmosphere. Once you get rolling and the Tricky tricks start flying (and you unlock a few glowing costumes) the game is awash with stylised colour. It's not as vibrantly neon as 3, but it's close in a slightly different way.
  • JokerJ0613 - February 29, 2012 9:51 a.m.

    Those physics are just about perfect. :O
  • Vordhosbn - February 29, 2012 1:49 a.m.

    Looking forward to this, even if it was only half as good as SSX3 I'd be hooked. And I was never brilliant at SSX3, there were some objectives that had me pulling my hair out for over an hour, but a bit of difficulty never stopped me enjoying a game.
  • DrFred79 - February 29, 2012 1:18 a.m.

    SSX3 still the best... Nice :) Hope it comes to the PS2 Classics someday :) Can't wait for friday for the new one !
  • Redeater - February 29, 2012 10:45 a.m.

    Where the hell is Allegra??
  • Hobogonigal - February 29, 2012 12:14 a.m.

    Very nice! I have never considered getting this game before but after reading this review I actually wouldn't mind giving it a try. Thanks Dave, great review!
  • Scotch - February 28, 2012 9:57 p.m.

    Awesome review Dave, I know your opinion on SSX is one I can trust!
  • Craza - February 28, 2012 6:45 p.m.

    I really wish the gift card I won for GameStop was $50 instead of $25 so I could run down to GameStop and buy this straight away! A girl can dream. :(
  • evilpacman18 - February 28, 2012 5:30 p.m.

    I'll be picking this up tomorrow (when I get paid). I think it'll be interesting to see how the online community improves as the game gets older. I've been playing SSX for years and so really the only new thing I had to pick up in my experience with the demo was holding Y to grind (Classic controls). It really makes it harder than that function should be on those controls, especially when you're holding Y to Grind, X to boost, and A to wind up a jump you're planning at the end of the rail with just your thumb. Meanwhile you're pressing whatever combination of the back buttons to do rail tricks and holding the d-pad as another part of the winding process. Anyway my point is that the controls aren't new to me except for a grind button. I also know exactly how to max out trick points and earn some awesome scores and I expect to dominate online for a while because I know these things. But once the community as a whole figures it out, who knows how good they'll be and how I'll compare. I'm excited. Can't wait to start playing tomorrow.
  • Rub3z - February 28, 2012 3:44 p.m.

    Yeah, I read another kind of "bad" review of the game on JoyStiq. I understand these are people's opinions, but it seems to me like they just didn't "get" it. Have they played an SSX game before? It seems like they didn't see past the first hard part where it kicks your ass that you talked about, and they complained about sheer drops and runs that disappear... I watched the trailers... isn't that what the wingsuit is for? I have a good feeling they complained and put far too much criticism against the game because they just sucked at it, or refused to see that SSX is all about improving and getting better until you find that you're a flying, uber-tricking, sound-barrier busting snowsports demigod. Also, should I invest in the PS3 version instead of 360? I have a feeling the extra content on PS3 will be made available for the 360 in due time anyway, but I want somebody's input. Thanks.

Showing 1-20 of 41 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 28 2012 - PS3, Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Sports
Published by: EA SPORTS
Developed by: EA Canada
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Mild Violence, Mild Lyrics
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.