Google+

Thief review

Solid
Back to Article

68 comments

  • winner2 - February 24, 2014 8:10 a.m.

    Definitely not what I was expecting but the stealth is what sold me. Already pre ordered, anticipating it to be a lot of fun.
  • shawksta - February 24, 2014 8:48 a.m.

    Same here
  • wiitard07 - February 24, 2014 8:49 a.m.

    Lots of people online complain about this game because of its story, especially hard core thief fans. Apparently they never played any thief games that they're such big fans of because the story NEVER added anything to the game. It was always super mediocre, but Garrett was always super cool.
  • Redeater - February 24, 2014 1:21 p.m.

    Well this is heartbreaking. Then again, I should have expected as much. This game had red flags the minute they had a press release for that "kill score" game mechanic. They may have taken it out due to backlash but I can only imagine the ocean of misunderstand of what Thief was if they thought it was good enough to tout as a feature. I'm still going to buy it but I'm really disappointed that almost every review seems to indicate that this is just an average stealth game. Well, at least we have Dishonored 2 to look forward to.
  • Redeater - February 24, 2014 1:53 p.m.

    I see GR is playing musical chairs with my comments again.
  • fearlessfox - February 24, 2014 8:07 a.m.

    "Thief is an enjoyable adventure that anyone looking for a stealth-based experience will enjoy" Just a tiny example, but this review is just badly written. It's getting rarer to find well written articles.
  • homestar99 - February 24, 2014 8:17 a.m.

    Then don't read the IGN review, that writing is covered in shit and bias.
  • Tyrlanae - February 24, 2014 9:25 a.m.

    I... agree. There's a few areas of this review where the writing strikes me as odd. Like this one: "Plus, skulking around while stealing the silverware and golden rings laying around the environments becomes an alluring but entertaining distraction." If it is alluring then it is probably safe to assume is it that way because it's entertaining. The inclusion of the but implies that it is entertaining despite its status as alluring. This statement is redundant. More aptly it should have been "...becomes both an alluring and entertaining distraction." It's nitpicky as hell, but a well written review is a much more enjoyable read. I agree that the standards seem to be dropping. I do find it ironic that you did exactly the same thing you were accusing the author of in your accusation, however. "Just a tiny example, but this review is just..." :P
  • BladedFalcon - February 24, 2014 7:59 a.m.

    Never played a Thief game before, so even if it is a reboot, this one offers no good story to lure me in, so I see no need to play it, specially if the level and game design is as hit and miss as most reviews so far claim it is.
  • db1331 - February 24, 2014 8:12 a.m.

    I HIGHLY recommend getting Thief 2, and installing the texture mod to pretty it up and run at modern resolution. From a gameplay/immersion standpoint, it still completely blows away 99% of modern games. It's still fun as all hell, brutally hard on Expert (especially if you don't quick save), and at times it can be just as scary (if not more) as anything in today's survival horror genre. I mean, just look at all the stuff there is to do in this map of one level of Thief 2. And it's only the SECOND LEVEL in the game. http://i.imgur.com/om7LJLQ.jpg
  • BladedFalcon - February 24, 2014 8:28 a.m.

    This will be disappointing for you to hear, but I still don't own a gaming-ready PC and I don't plan to play PC games any time soon.. I'll keep your advice in mind though, because if I do egt one eventually, I'll definitely give Thief 2 a try. And heh, yeah, it's kinda ridiculous how complex the decade and a half old game is comparison to the modern one XD
  • db1331 - February 24, 2014 8:31 a.m.

    Thief 2 will probably run on any PC built in the last decade. Do you have one of those?
  • homestar99 - February 24, 2014 8:35 a.m.

    I can run it with ease, what I can't do is bulk that shit up with mods without causing it to explode.
  • db1331 - February 24, 2014 8:40 a.m.

    That mod isn't demanding at all. It's just some non-muddy textures and a resolution fix to let you play it at something like 1080p. It's not like running Skyrim with enb or something.
  • homestar99 - February 24, 2014 9:20 a.m.

    Downloading it now. Great, now I don't have to buy an inferior reboot.
  • homestar99 - February 24, 2014 8:32 a.m.

    Can't afford a high end PC either. But I will admit that if I did I would have Thief 2 and that Mod 'cos that game was the shit. Definitely better than the reboot, especially the somewhat funny dialogue.
  • Redeater - February 24, 2014 1:25 p.m.

    Thief 2 is one of my favorite games of all time. Garrett and Victoria are among my fav characters ever. The story is a magical blend of science and fantasy that you rarely see these days.
  • db1331 - February 24, 2014 1:27 p.m.

    It really is a masterpiece. I started playing through it again on Expert last year, and it still holds up today. Did you ever check out the fan-made Thief 2 game? I've been meaning to try it for years. I've heard it's great.
  • Redeater - February 24, 2014 2:50 p.m.

    Fan-made Thief 2 game? Well now you have piqued my interest good sir. I'll have to look into this immediately.
  • db1331 - February 25, 2014 5 a.m.

    You've probably found it already, but here's the link. It's like a brand new Thief 2, only it stars a new female thief instead of Garrett. http://www.thief2x.com/
  • winner2 - February 25, 2014 1:20 p.m.

    You, sir, have done a great deed today. Much appreciated.

Showing 21-40 of 68 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 25 2014 - PS4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PC
Feb 25 2014 - PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PS4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Eidos
Developed by: Eidos Montreal
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs, Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.