Google+

Splinter Cell: Conviction Super Review

Great
Back to Article

116 comments

  • Aeshir - April 14, 2010 10:19 p.m.

    @GodofPS314 Way to misinterpret the review, dumbass. He didn't like the single-player, but loved the co-op. He even gave the game an eight, which means "great."
  • GodofPS314 - April 14, 2010 9:53 p.m.

    Call me a PS3 fanboy or whatever... but this is the Xbox's fail of the month. So oper hyped and then it falls on it's face.
  • d0x - April 14, 2010 6:53 p.m.

    I am firmly in the this is not Splinter Cell camp but keep reading. I think almost all of the new ideas are great but they took too much stealth gameplay out and put too much action in. Chaos Theory is the perfect example cause its my fav Splinter Cell. The pacing is perfect. Conviction has some stealth elements but its not true to the series. That being said, Splinter Cell or not this game kicks some major ass and is alot of fun. Im not happy with the direction they have taken to appease the stealth casual set of gamers but the game is tons of fun to play and I'll take Sam Fisher any way I can get him. Kudos to UBI for trying something new and on making a truly kick ass game. If i want full on hardcore stealth gameplay I can always go back and play Chaos Theory. Now! Bring on Spies vs Mercs (non nerfed Chaos Theory version) as DLC please! Yes they ruined it in Double Agent by making spies beep when near mercs. How can you be sneaky if they know you are there?
  • Mirako - April 14, 2010 6:44 p.m.

    You talked about the Co-op being amazing but you didn't even explain why it was so much better then the single player, it's the same game so what makes it so good? I got bored of hearing about the single player, I was excited for some awesome Co-op Stealth action! I hope this isn't a double post, sorry if it is.
  • Mirako - April 14, 2010 6:36 p.m.

    You said the Co-op was great but hardly talked about it, after reading the review I really wanted to hear more! I don't care too much about the single player, I've just been pumped for some great co-op stealth.
  • Hexar - April 14, 2010 5:42 p.m.

    Last caption on the first page (not the Dorothy pic) What the hell does "Instead of a of stealh meter, ..." mean? In regards to the review, I stopped after the first page, it's obvious where he's going with it. He sucked ass before (billion restarts? Jesus quit gaming now man) and is pleased that he needs to get behind a wall and shoot stuff now. Fisher is like Batman? Boy that sounds like fun. With far and few between stealth titles on the 360 this is a missed opportunity. Yeah they'll sell a bunch of copies to people clamoring for more of the same shit. For the rest of us that did enjoy the more deliberate and tactical nature of the previous games (and who didn't suck complete and total ass at them) I suppose I'll continue to wait for another title that provides a little something I like to call variety. And if those aren't guns I'm using how the hell is this game NOT a shooter?
  • Aeshir - April 14, 2010 5:08 p.m.

    @MACGRUBER7693 Sandbox? What? Ain't no sandbox here, son.
  • MACGRUBER7693 - April 14, 2010 5:06 p.m.

    I really do like some of the new things they added but I'm dissapointed with some of the other things. The focus on a more sandbox enviroment is great and the new jason bourne type atmosphere is bresh of fresh air. But I'm dissapointed with how they made more into a your average shooter and less of a stealth game and the greying out when your hidden is just bs.
  • grumpyDinosaur - April 14, 2010 3:05 p.m.

    Jesus, you would have thought this was a PS3 exclusive with these comments. Good thing it didn't get a 7, I can only imagine all the mouth foaming hate mongering that would have caused. OMG I don't like this opinion... http://tiny.cc/3wwxe Btw nice review Mr. Antista.
  • Shrimpandwhitewine - April 14, 2010 2:41 p.m.

    Good article, I would certainly hope the next game in the makes Sam Fisher more bad-ass.
  • FreekinIdiot - April 14, 2010 1:50 p.m.

    @jesusfrk15 What's wrong with an 8?? that's still a good game dude! maybe i just have lower standards
  • Persona - April 14, 2010 1:33 p.m.

    Oh crap, triple Post. I apologize for this uh, little accident? My first post is a bit bias ><
  • Persona - April 14, 2010 1:25 p.m.

    Was always more of a MGS person but thanks to Double Agent I'm willing to see how Ubisoft has taken the (true) action-stealth. But I am skeptical about the Single Player. I've always found Sam Fisher the interesting fellow and the past games have had some pretty neat scenarios. (we need more espionage, trust heavy, tense levels in games these days)
  • Persona - April 14, 2010 12:59 p.m.

    I have a feeling Splinter Cell isn't going to be about fisher soon. Despite his iconic 3 lens night vision goggles the series is turning for the worst IMO. A 5 hour single player? come on... MGS 4 had a great single (storywise) and a very original multiplayer experience. Then again Splinter Cell (so far) is the xbox's stealth game
  • wrapdump - April 14, 2010 12:53 p.m.

    From your review I was expecting a 6.
  • FreekinIdiot - April 14, 2010 12:44 p.m.

    @Gamesradar Buttercup Who let you out of your stable?? Loving all the hate on this page. regardless of the score I'm still getting this bitch slapping game
  • Felixthecat - April 14, 2010 11:42 a.m.

    This mostly applies to Mr michaelmcc, but can people stop whining? I love Splinter Cell and as a series I find it to be something that almost "set's a bar" for other games in the stealth genre (besides MGS, maybe, but they're pretty different IMO). If games didn't change over time, then they would become boring. Look at Pokemon, I'm not saying I dislike Pokemon, quite the opposite infact, but people are always moaning now about how the series hasn't changed at all and how it's got boring and repetetive. If Splinter Cell didn't take a new direction such as this, it would of become Pokemon, it would just be Double Agent with a few more gadgets and features thrown in to mix things up slightly. We, as gamers, should be embracing the change that Splinter Cell is now taking because Ubisoft wanted to do something different with the series. I mean, the game still has stealth mechanics, why are people even complaining about it? Also, very well written review, Mr Antista.
  • philipshaw - April 14, 2010 11:25 a.m.

    Great review Chris and love the Gif
  • curly_jefferson - April 14, 2010 10:36 a.m.

    Everyone look at Aeshir, he made an argument without being a dick. Fucking Legend. The thing i seem to have taken away from your review is that the Bar has just been raised as far as stealth games go. So the game is good but you have adjusted your standards. I don't know Splinter Cell games well, i gave up on Double Agent, but i do love the idea of stealth. Good read.
  • MaynardJ - April 14, 2010 9:33 a.m.

    I might buy this when it gets a 20 euro pricetag. The single player campaign is obviously too short and I don't play online. By now I have played all previous parts of the franchise on PC except Double Agent. If I like DA, I'll eventually get Conviction, otherwise I might just move on and be on the side of the disappointed old fans. I never minded the trial-and-error nature of the gameplay. Surely it was soemtimes frustrating but it made me feel great to finally make it through without being shot, save and move on to the next situation. And @ Ultima: It's true that games have dumbed down in the past years. I finished Mega Man 2 when I was 12. Last year I tried part 9 and didn't even make it to all the boss rooms, let alone beat them all. Being less patient than in the NES days and more used to being guided through a game, I haven't yet given it another try.

Showing 21-40 of 116 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360
Published by: Ubisoft
Developed by: Ubisoft, Ubisoft Montreal
ESRB Rating:
Mature

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.