Google+

Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception review

Excellent
Back to Article

102 comments

  • keltar93 - October 24, 2011 11:39 a.m.

    This lazer59882 guy is funny- it's like he's parodying a troll he's so outrageous. Anyway, glad it's fantastic. I'm not a PS3 owner, but kudos to them for getting another great exclusive
  • Fox_Mulder - October 24, 2011 10:08 p.m.

    You sir, are a rational and respectful gamer, and a breath of fresh air on this site.
  • shawksta - October 24, 2011 11:20 a.m.

    Awesome,knew it would be.great review as always mikel. Kinda sad of the campaign but nontheless its great, I still got Arkham City and Skyward Sword for my hunger for %100 Single player awesomness.
  • tareq - October 24, 2011 11:19 a.m.

    I really can't see why you'd choose to compare UC3 to AC but whatever
  • Safety Dance Central - October 24, 2011 11:02 a.m.

    I have always felt the climbing and puzzles were bit too easy in uncharted games. I will still end up loving this game though, just as long as they don't have a boss like the one at the end of the first uncharted.
  • lazer59882 - October 24, 2011 11:01 a.m.

    meh, another 3rd person action game with cover based shooting, SUPER linear levels, cutscenes/characters/character development which has absolutely no bearing whatsoever on gameplay, and a SUPER short campaign. for the life of me i'll never understand the hype this series gets. "but it's cinematic! it's like watching a movie!" thats why i have movies. please please, no more derivative sh!t games.
  • Redeater - October 24, 2011 11:03 a.m.

    Hey buck up champ. Battlefield 3 and CODMW 3 comes out so you can leave the rest of us alone with our fantastic single player games.
  • lazer59882 - October 24, 2011 11:18 a.m.

    hahahaha dude you're retarded. I LOVE single player games, they're all I play. I never played a call of duty or battlefield and really couldn't care less about them. personally I'm superhyped for skyrim and assassins creed now that batmans already out. the fact that you're defending a superlinear, 9 hr long game filled with nothing but derivative gameplay and lots of style and flash over substance and innovation as some kind of paragon of single player games is flatly absurd. this series is so overrated it makes me want to punch a ps3
  • lazer59882 - October 24, 2011 11:20 a.m.

    and by the way, since you enjoy uncharted so much, maybe You should try to cod and battlefield. I hear they're FULL of derivative gameplay no substance and 6 hr campaigns. sounds right up your alley!
  • heznave1 - October 24, 2011 12:26 p.m.

    and you don't think assassin's creed is derivative? same formula, same game for three entries running... you are entitled to your opinion so I can't argue with the fact that you are not interested in Uncharted, but calling Uncharted derivative and boring is just that, an opinion.
  • lazer59882 - October 24, 2011 12:35 p.m.

    i didnt say assassins creed isnt derivative: it is. but heres the big difference which you fail to understand, assassins creed is derivative of itself, in that it keeps reusing ideas that it pioneered and that no other game uses. uncharted is derivative of EVERY game, be it gears of war, call of duty or even assassins creed. it steals ideas from dozens of FAR better games. and i'm not just slagging it for being derivative: its also repetitive, incredibly linear, incredibly short, and the "cool" cutscenes really have no bearing whatsoever on the gameplay. so yeah, that sh!t's overrated.
  • TriforcePlayer - October 24, 2011 1:52 p.m.

    The heck are you talking about? It didn't pioneer an open world where you can jump around on rooftops. Mario Sunshine and Sly Cooper were already doing this. Its combat came from Prince of Persia:Sands of Time. Traveling around on horseback? Go back to Ocarina of Time. Ubisoft combined a lot of things that work and have improved them every time. Naughty Dog does the same. So did Batman, Gears 3, and most successful franchises.
  • lazer59882 - October 24, 2011 2:40 p.m.

    i dont know what you're talking about and i don't think you do either. AC pioneered the open world parkour style,. it revolutionized world traversal animations in characters, and introduced a slew of cool gadgets and mechanics all of which enhanced the primarily stealth based gameplay. never played sly cooper, but supermario sunshine has NOTHING to do with AC whatsoever. that is a flatly idiotic statement. so is saying its combat is ripped from sands of time. i realize i'm talking to a 12 year old or something who's never played sands of time, so allow me to educate you: the two combat systems are nothing alike. that is a fact. nobody said horseback riding was innovative, yet it still approached it in an innovative way in the ways you could interact with the horse (i.e. horseback combat, jumping from the saddle, jumping off a building onto your horse. again i have no idea what any of this has to do with uncharted. i simply said it is a derivative game in a hackneyed and played out genre, combining overused mechanics with non-interactive cutscenes. that is a recipe for suck.
  • Redeater - October 24, 2011 4:14 p.m.

    You know it wouldn't hurt you to press shift at the beginning of your sentences. You do realize that you are the one sounding like a 12 year old and not the people you are mocking right? Your incoherent rants aside, you might want to actually think before you construct your illogical attempts at trashing other people's opinions.
  • Moondoggie1157 - October 24, 2011 4:34 p.m.

    You know Lazer, you might be correct. Seeing as I haven't played much of Uncharted (starting 1) and never played any of the AC series (yet). But, you just aren't a likable person. I dunno... Sonic would curb-stomp Drake and Ezio anyways, so it's no contest regardless of what anyone bitches about. Dammit... I fed the Troll. My bad, friends.
  • KielbasaNinja - October 24, 2011 3:32 p.m.

    The sign clearly reads "Please don't feed the trolls." They tend to become irritable when confronted by something new and foreign to them. Never ever attempt to remove a troll from its natural, dark and gloomy habitat. When removed from their comfort zone, trolls tend to lash out nonsensically in order to better acclimate their surroundings to their evil ways. These signs are conveniently placed everywhere for your own protection and are not to be taken lightly. Please proceed with caution.
  • wampastompa - October 24, 2011 12:57 p.m.

    You hate 3rd person action, character development, and movies? What exactly do you like?
  • lazer59882 - October 24, 2011 1:22 p.m.

    i hate the 3982059th 3rd person action game, i hate it when character development takes place solely in cutscenes and has nothing to do with gameplay, and i hate it when movies invade my games. i like original approaches to ostensibly overused genres (see Deadly Premonition), character development that has actual relevance to gameplay and player input (see Mass Effect/any WRPG these days) and games where cutscenes are integrated into the game to the point that they're not just annoying unskippable non-interactive mini-movies (see Half-Life 2). anything else?
  • Redeater - October 24, 2011 11 a.m.

    I'm still going to call Arkham City as GOTY. Can't wait to play this as well though.
  • Stridefizzel - October 24, 2011 10:55 a.m.

    I will wait to give my full opinion about this review until I've actually played the game, but I do have to say that I suspect Gamesradar just reviewed this game the way they did to be different. Early reviews, especially at IGN, seem to be heaping a LOT of praise towards this game even over Uncharted 2 (Which was my GOTY in 2009 by the way).

Showing 61-80 of 102 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Naughty Dog
Franchise: Uncharted
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.